Coinbase Card fees and limits: what spending crypto actually costs

Every line in the official fee table of the Coinbase Card debit Visa reads $0. Card purchase, monthly fee, currency conversion, international transaction, ATM withdrawal, replacement card, all zero. That is not a marketing page talking, it is the fee schedule inside the Pathward Cardholder Agreement dated 14 October 2024, the document Coinbase itself links from coinbase.com/legal/coinbasecard.

A zero fee schedule is not the same as a zero cost. What this card costs you sits in two places the fee table never shows: the spread baked into the conversion rate, which Coinbase admits exists but never quantifies, and whatever the ATM operator decides to charge. This piece takes the product apart line by line instead of repeating the headline.

For the wider market, competitors and side-by-side tables, see our 2026 crypto card overview and the card ranking by cashback and limits. This page stays on one product.

[IMAGE: bright summer morning, outdoor cafe table under a tree, a payment card and a phone with a banking app on the table, green foliage, plenty of daylight]

The short version

  1. Every line of the current Coinbase Card debit fee schedule is $0, conversion and foreign transactions included (Pathward Cardholder Agreement, 14 Oct 2024).
  2. Coinbase confirms a spread is included in crypto buy and sell prices but publishes no percentage anywhere. Any article quoting a specific spread number invented it.
  3. Card balance caps at $25,000, cash withdrawals at $1,000 per 24 hours, purchases at $2,500 per 24 hours. Personal limits differ and live only inside the app.
  4. Rewards are US-only and the rate is officially unpublished: "Reward rate is variable. Check your app for the most updated rate."
  5. Refunds land in your Coinbase Wallet at the rate on the day of the refund, not back on the card at the purchase rate.
  6. Spending USDC creates no taxable event. Spending anything else does.

What does the card charge to convert crypto when you pay?

Nothing. The current Pathward agreement lists Card Transactions with Coinbase Wallet Currency Conversion at $0 and explains it in plain language: "No fee for converting funds from your Coinbase Wallet account. Funds ... are converted to U.S. dollars at the prevailing trading rate on Coinbase's trading platform." There is no separate charge for turning bitcoin into dollars at the till.

That was not always true, and the old number refuses to die. The earlier MetaBank agreements, including the 21 January 2022 edition, carried a line reading "Coinbase Wallet Currency Conversion 2.49% of Card transaction amount", with the same 2.49% applied to ATM withdrawals. Coinbase dropped that fee when the card was refreshed in spring 2022. Four years later, 2.49% still shows up in review sites and comparison tables. It is not an alternative current figure to be averaged against zero. It is a previous edition of the same contract.

The full fee schedule

All values from the "List of all fees" section of the Pathward Cardholder Agreement dated 14 October 2024, checked 01.09.2026.

Fee lineAmount
Card purchase$0
Monthly fee$0
Loading from Coinbase Wallet$0
Card transaction$0
Conversion at point of sale$0
ATM withdrawal$0 charged by Coinbase or Pathward
ATM withdrawal with conversion$0
ATM balance inquiry$0, the operator may charge its own
International transaction$0
International ATM withdrawal$0, the operator may charge its own
Customer service, automated and live$0
Replacement card$0, verbatim "You will not be charged a fee for replacement cards"
Application$0, no credit check

Not one billable line. Worth contrasting with the separate Coinbase One Card, a credit product on the Amex network, which does have priced lines. More on that below.

Spread versus fee, and why you cannot simply add them up

A fee is a stated amount taken on top of your purchase and printed in a schedule. A spread is the gap between the rate the platform gives you and the mid-market rate, folded into the price rather than itemised. On the Coinbase Card the fee is zero. The spread is still there.

Coinbase states this openly on its pricing page: "Spending with the Coinbase Card has no transaction fees. Coinbase does include a spread in the price to buy or sell cryptocurrencies. This allows us to temporarily lock in a price for trade execution while you review the transaction details prior to submitting your transaction" (checked 01.09.2026).

What follows is not a number. It is two qualifications: the spread is visible in the order preview screen, and "the spread may vary for similar transactions". The same page adds that Coinbase occasionally tests changes to fees and spread. For scale, the platform does publish other figures: simple limit orders carry a separate 1% fee on the trade amount, and a Coinbase fee of 1.875% may apply depending on payment method. Neither applies to card spending, but they show the order of magnitude the platform works in.

So the arithmetic that most reviews promise, fee plus spread equals true cost, cannot be done in advance. One of the two terms is undisclosed. The only honest route is measuring it yourself, and there is a method for that further down.

How much does it cost to take out cash?

Coinbase and Pathward charge $0 for withdrawals, including foreign ones and ones involving conversion. The machine owner charges its own fee, which varies by operator and country, and the issuer neither controls nor reimburses it. It is the one cost that arrives as its own line rather than hiding inside a conversion rate.

Limits shape the behaviour here. You get up to $1,000 in cash per 24 hours and no more than six withdrawal operations per day, split as three at ATMs and three over the counter. With a per-machine fee in play, splitting a withdrawal across six visits multiplies the cost for no benefit. Fewer and larger, within the daily ceiling, is the arithmetic that works.

What are the Coinbase Card limits?

The card balance caps at $25,000, cash withdrawals at $1,000 per 24 hours, purchases at $2,500 per 24 hours and reloads at $5,000 per 24 hours. Every one of those ceilings sits in section 4b of the 14 October 2024 Pathward agreement.

They describe the maximum the product allows, not what any individual gets. Coinbase says so directly, "Spending limits vary between customers", and points cardholders to the app under Card, Support, View spending and ATM limits.

LimitValue
Maximum card balance at any time$25,000
Reload amount$5,000 per 24 hours
Reload frequency2 per 24 hours, 4 per 7 days, 10 per 30 days
Cash withdrawal amountno more than $1,000 per 24 hours
Cash withdrawal count3 ATM and 3 over the counter, no more than 6 per day
Purchases$2,500 signature, $2,500 PIN, no more than $2,500 total per 24 hours

A footnote in the agreement adds that third parties may impose further limitations: the merchant, the ATM, the payment network.

Look at how the balance cap and the cash cap interact. You may hold up to $25,000 on the card, and no more than $1,000 of it leaves as cash in any 24 hours. The product is built for paying merchants, not for converting to banknotes.

Old reviews get this wrong in both directions at once. The MetaBank agreement set the maximum balance at $9,999.99 and the 24-hour purchase ceiling at $5,000. The current Pathward text says $25,000 and $2,500. Balance got much more generous, daily spending got tighter, and anything written before October 2024 has stale numbers on both lines.

[IMAGE: light infographic set against a sunlit park, three circles reading 25000, 2500 and 1000 labelled balance, daily purchases, daily cash, pastel palette, daylight]

Which countries can get the card?

In the United States the card is available in every state except Hawaii, for cardholders aged 18 or over who are US citizens or permanent residents. Coinbase issues it in 31 further regions across the UK and Europe. Separately, a hard list names the countries where the card will not work at all.

UK and EU regions, from the official Coinbase help list checked 01.09.2026: Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, United Kingdom.

Countries where the card does not work: Afghanistan, Albania, Belarus, Central African Republic, China, Cuba, DR Congo, Ethiopia, Hong Kong, Iran, Iraq, Lebanon, Libya, Mali, Myanmar, Nicaragua, North Korea, Russia, Somalia, South Sudan, Sudan, Syria, Turkey, Ukraine, Venezuela, Yemen, Zimbabwe.

That second list matters more than it first appears, because it governs where transactions happen, not just where you live. Travel to a listed country and the card stops working there.

One regional quirk: in the UK and Europe, Apple Pay and Google Pay are not supported and the card cannot be added to a mobile wallet at all, so contactless runs off the physical card, which takes 2 to 3 weeks to arrive. US help pages, by contrast, mention Apple Wallet and Google Wallet. Delivery time for the physical card in the US is not stated anywhere officially.

Which merchant categories are blocked?

Coinbase publishes a list of categories where the card declines no matter your balance or limits. The block runs off the merchant category code, not off your money, and it covers whole industries rather than named sellers. A raised limit and a full wallet change nothing here. Thirteen categories are listed as of 01.09.2026:

  1. Securities broker-dealers
  2. Dating and escort services
  3. Massage parlors
  4. Gambling and casinos, state-licensed venues included
  5. Internet gambling
  6. Government lotteries
  7. Horse and dog racing
  8. Money orders
  9. Wire transfers
  10. Money services businesses
  11. Cryptocurrency businesses
  12. Firearm-related businesses
  13. Marijuana-related businesses

The crypto business entry is the one that catches people out. A Coinbase card cannot pay a crypto company. If you earn in BTC and planned to cover hardware, hosting or pool related services with the card, check the merchant category before you rely on it.

Which assets can you spend?

Local currency, USDC, or any crypto your Coinbase account already supports. The wording is identical on every product page: "You can spend local currency, USD Coin (USDC), or any supported crypto on Coinbase using your Coinbase Card without incurring any transaction fees." No closed list of spendable coins is published anywhere.

Mechanically, the selected asset converts automatically at purchase and at the ATM. US pages say the conversion goes to dollars. The UK product page says pound sterling. You switch the spending asset in the app under Card, then Paying With.

Coinbase documents disagree with each other here. The EU help article says conversion goes to US dollars, while the UK product page says sterling. It reads like US boilerplate pasted into the European article, but neither page corrects the other, so both versions stand as written.

How do the rewards work, and what are the conditions?

Rewards reach US cardholders only and pay out in crypto tokens on purchases. No fixed rate is published. The footnote repeated across every card page reads: "Crypto rewards is an optional Coinbase offer. Rewards are only available to Card users in the US. Reward rate is variable. Check your app for the most updated rate."

The documented mechanics:

  1. You choose your reward asset and can change it monthly.
  2. Rewards already earned do not expire: "The rewards earned do not expire."
  3. Reward offers themselves do expire, with the expiry date shown in your account.
  4. If an offer expires and you have not chosen a new one, Coinbase picks one for you.

The "up to 4% back" figure still circulating comes from a Coinbase blog post dated 6 April 2022, which said "customers will continue to earn up to 4% back on every purchase" and, in the same post, labelled it illustrative: "Rewards are for illustrative purposes only, actual reward options may vary." A four-year-old post carrying its own disclaimer is not a 2026 rate.

Do not confuse it with the Coinbase One Card

Coinbase runs two card products and reviewers mix them up constantly. The Coinbase One Card is a credit card on the American Express network, launched in 2025 and tied to the Coinbase One subscription. It has published reward tiers and it has priced fee lines.

ParameterCoinbase Card (debit, Visa)Coinbase One Card (credit, Amex)
Reward ratenot published, "variable"2.0% under $10k assets, 2.5% at $10k-$50k, 3.0% at $50k-$200k, 4.0% above $200k
Rate capno data2.5%, 3% and 4% apply to the first $10,000 of eligible purchases per calendar month, then up to 2%
Cash advancenot applicable$10 or 5%, whichever is greater
Late paymentnot applicableup to $41
Returned paymentnot applicableup to $41
Replacement cardalways freefirst free, then up to $40
Holding cost$0covered by Coinbase One membership

Those 2 to 4% tiers belong to the Amex credit card. Seeing them next to the debit Visa means the source merged two products. The debit card has no published percentage rate at all.

What happens when you return a purchase?

The merchant handles the return, not Coinbase, and the money never comes back to the card. It lands in your Coinbase Wallet: "Immediately upon our receipt of the refund we will transfer the refund amount to your Coinbase Wallet." It converts at the refund-date rate, so you can finish with more or less crypto than you spent.

The rest of the procedure:

  1. The credit may not appear quickly: "we have no control over when a merchant sends a credit transaction."
  2. Chargebacks go to the same place, the Coinbase Wallet.
  3. In the UK and EU, merchant initiated refunds can take up to 10 days to settle.
  4. Foreign transaction fees are not refunded on a return. Currently academic, since that fee is $0, but the clause exists.
  5. Pre-authorisations at restaurants, hotels and fuel stations hold more than the final bill, and the excess returns to your Coinbase Wallet after settlement, with Coinbase re-buying crypto on your behalf at market price.

Exchange rate exposure on refunds is the most overlooked part of this design. Pay in bitcoin, return the item two weeks later, and you receive the dollar value back in bitcoin at the new price. Price up, fewer coins. Price down, more.

Dispute windows and liability

From the Error Resolution Procedures section of the current agreement:

  1. Report an error within 60 days of the earlier of electronic statement access or the first written statement being sent.
  2. Coinbase may limit its investigation if the error is not reported within 120 days of the transaction posting.
  3. Standard resolution runs 10 business days, extendable to a 45 day investigation with provisional credit inside 10 business days.
  4. New accounts, point-of-sale transactions and foreign-initiated transactions allow up to 90 days for investigation, and new accounts allow up to 20 business days for provisional credit.

On unauthorised transactions: report within 2 business days and your loss is capped at $50, miss that window and it rises to $500, stay silent for more than 60 days after the statement and you may recover nothing. Visa Zero Liability applies, but it excludes ATM transactions, non-Visa PIN transactions, some commercial card transactions and unregistered cards.

What lands in your tax reporting on every purchase?

Every card payment funded by crypto other than USDC is a disposal of property and a taxable event. Coinbase states it plainly: spending USDC at parity with the dollar produces no gain or loss, while spending any other asset realises a result measured against your cost basis.

In practice that means buying coffee with bitcoin generates a line in your tax report. Thirty purchases in a month means thirty lines with thirty dates, prices and cost bases. It follows from the mechanics alone that a USDC spending asset produces one fewer reporting line than a volatile one. How many cardholders actually set it that way is not something Coinbase publishes.

Rules differ by jurisdiction and none of this is tax advice. The principle that stablecoin at parity is neutral while a volatile asset is not comes from Coinbase itself. What your country does with that is a separate question.

Who issues the card and what protects the money?

The US card is issued by Pathward, N.A., Member FDIC, under licence from Visa U.S.A. Inc., with processing by Marqeta. Funds on the card account carry FDIC insurance up to $250,000 per legal category of account ownership, subject to FDIC requirements. The agreement also states flatly that there is no overdraft or credit feature.

Legally it is a prepaid product: "Your Card is a prepaid card ... The Card is not a credit card." No interest accrues on the balance, and one user may hold only one active card account. Governing law is South Dakota, with binding arbitration and a class action waiver.

The UK card is issued by Paysafe Financial Services Limited, FCA authorised under the Electronic Money Regulations 2011, FRN 900015, and a Visa scheme member. Here the paperwork works differently, and it is worth knowing in advance: the Paysafe agreement contains no fee table and no limits table at all. It defers limits to the app ("see your Card management details in the Coinbase App"), says a replacement card fee "may apply" without naming an amount, grants a 14 day cancellation right after receipt at no charge, and warns that no statutory compensation scheme covers funds held on the card. A US cardholder can read the numbers in a document. A UK cardholder can only read them in an app.

For the EU the sources contradict each other. The European help article claims the card is issued by Pathward N.A. under a Visa U.S.A. licence, which for a European product looks like copied US boilerplate. The UK product page and the Paysafe agreement point to Paysafe. The safe framing as of 01.09.2026: US means Pathward and Visa, UK means Paysafe, and the EU issuer is not officially confirmed.

What Coinbase does not publish at all

The gaps matter as much as the numbers, because they are exactly where reviewers start guessing:

  1. A numeric value for the spread on card spending. Acknowledged, never quantified.
  2. The current debit card cashback rate as a percentage.
  3. The current rotating reward assets and their rates.
  4. Individual per-customer spending and ATM limits. App only.
  5. UK and EU fee schedules and limits in numbers.
  6. The crypto to fiat conversion percentage for the UK and EU card.
  7. The replacement card fee in the UK and EU.
  8. Physical card delivery time in the US.
  9. Terms for minors, additional users and business cards. The agreement makes the card personal only, bans secondary users and prohibits business use.

If a review quotes any of these without linking an official document, the number is either invented or lifted from a retired edition of the agreement.

How to measure what your own spending really costs

Since the spread is not published, you have to measure it. The method is crude and it works:

  1. Record the market price of your asset on an independent source at the moment of the transaction.
  2. Make a card purchase for a clean round amount.
  3. Check your Coinbase history for the exact quantity of the asset debited.
  4. Multiply that quantity by the price you recorded and compare against the receipt total.
  5. The difference, expressed as a percentage, is your real cost for that asset at that moment.
  6. Repeat with a different asset and at a different time of day. The spread floats, and one sample proves nothing.
  7. Add the ATM operator fee separately if cash was involved.

That measurement beats any comparison table, because it reflects your asset, your amount and the market as it actually was.

Which scenarios the mechanics fit

Not advice, just a match between the documented mechanics and common use cases.

ScenarioFit based on documented facts
US resident spending USDCZero on every fee line, no taxable event at parity, rewards available but the rate is unknown in advance
US resident spending BTC or altcoinsNo fee, but every purchase is a taxable event plus an undisclosed spread
UK cardholderIssued by Paysafe, no fee or limit figures in the documents, no Apple Pay or Google Pay
EU cardholderRegion on the list of 31, but the issuer is unconfirmed and the help article contradicts itself on conversion currency
Regular cash withdrawalsThe $1,000 daily cap plus ATM operator fees make this an expensive habit
Paying crypto companies or hosting providersBlocked merchant category, check the merchant code first
Large one-off purchasesThe $2,500 daily purchase ceiling gets in the way

If mining payouts are your funding source, size the payout stream first in the mining profitability calculator and pick a card against that volume afterwards. Alternatives sit in the crypto card catalogue, and for a competitor that does publish its cashback numbers, compare against the breakdown of Binance Card cashback and limits or the fuller 2026 card comparison guide.

Product status as of 01.09.2026

The Coinbase Card debit product is live, with the product page and help centre both active. On 14 July 2026 an incident lasting roughly 50 minutes affected several services including card transactions, and Coinbase published a postmortem. That was an outage, not a wind down. The Coinbase One Card runs alongside it, and confusion between the two is currently the main source of wrong numbers in third party reviews.

FAQ

Does the Coinbase Card really charge 2.49% to convert?

Not now. That fee sat in the MetaBank agreements until the card was refreshed in spring 2022. The current Pathward agreement dated 14 October 2024 shows $0 on that line.

Is there a foreign transaction fee?

The schedule says $0 for international transactions. The conversion spread still applies and its size is not published.

What is the cashback rate right now?

There is no official percentage. Coinbase says only "reward rate is variable, check your app", and rewards are limited to US cardholders.

Can I get the card in Russia, Turkey or Ukraine?

No. Issuance covers the US and 31 UK and EU regions, none of which include them. All three also appear on the official list of countries where the card cannot be used.

What happens if I return an item?

The refund goes to your Coinbase Wallet at the refund date rate, not back to the card at the purchase rate. In the UK and EU settlement can take up to 10 days.

Does the balance earn interest?

No. It is a prepaid card, the agreement states no interest accrues, and there is no overdraft or credit feature.

Sources

  1. Coinbase Cardholder Agreement, Pathward N.A., 14 Oct 2024: https://assets.ctfassets.net/q5ulk4bp65r7/sEhBc9st9Ws5He4te6bYi/85a632727687193a6ffc871b99e9642b/Coinbase_CHA_October_14_2024.pdf (checked 01.09.2026)
  2. Coinbase Card fees and taxes: https://help.coinbase.com/en/coinbase/trading-and-funding/coinbase-card/cb-card-fees-tax (checked 01.09.2026)
  3. Using your Coinbase Card: https://help.coinbase.com/en/coinbase/trading-and-funding/coinbase-card/use-cb-card (checked 01.09.2026)
  4. Coinbase Card rewards: https://help.coinbase.com/en/coinbase/trading-and-funding/coinbase-card/cb-card-rewards (checked 01.09.2026)
  5. Coinbase Card FAQ for EU and UK: https://help.coinbase.com/en/coinbase/trading-and-funding/other/coinbase-card-faq (checked 01.09.2026)
  6. Pricing and fees, spread section: https://help.coinbase.com/en/coinbase/trading-and-funding/pricing-and-fees/fees (checked 01.09.2026)
  7. Coinbase Card UK: https://www.coinbase.com/en-gb/card and the Paysafe Cardholder Agreement https://static-assets.coinbase.com/card/terms/v1/uk_paysafe_cha.pdf (checked 01.09.2026)
  8. Coinbase MetaBank Cardholder Agreement, 21 Jan 2022, for historical comparison: https://assets.ctfassets.net/c5bd0wqjc7v0/43p1S2DTcU8ilpbKqjl7NQ/1c7404deaba65209e773351a909bad60/Coinbase_MetaBank_Cardholder_Agreement_21Jan2022.pdf (checked 01.09.2026)
  9. Coinbase One Card benefits and features: https://help.coinbase.com/en/creditcard/benefits-features and fees https://help.coinbase.com/en/creditcard/fees-and-interest (checked 01.09.2026)

[IMAGE: bright landscape, a hiker with a backpack on a mountain viewpoint in daylight, phone with a banking app in hand, clear sky, green slopes]

POOL BTC is an independent comparison site for mining pools, calculators and payment services. We do not issue cards and have no affiliation with Coinbase. Every figure above comes from the issuer's own documents with the date it was checked.