Oobit Card review 2026: fees, cashback, countries, who it fits

Oobit suits people who keep crypto in a self-custody wallet like MetaMask or Phantom and want to spend it through Apple Pay or Google Wallet without preloading a card. It costs 1% per purchase with a $0.25 minimum. It does not fit residents of Russia, people who mostly make small purchases, or anyone counting on the "up to 10%" cashback without holding the OOB token.

POOL BTC is an independent comparison site. We are not Oobit, not a card issuer and not a mining pool, and nothing here is investment advice. The facts below come from Oobit's official FAQ, its crypto card page and the card terms, checked on 2026-10-08. Where Oobit's help center pages would not open, we say so and mark the figure as unconfirmed.

What is Oobit?

Oobit is a payment app that converts your crypto into local currency at the moment of checkout. You pay by tapping your phone through Apple Pay or Google Wallet, online, by QR code or with a Visa card. Oobit says this works at more than 175 million Visa merchants. It connects to the wallet you already use, so nothing has to be preloaded.

The wallet connection is the main difference from most crypto cards. Oobit links to existing self-custody wallets such as MetaMask, Trust, Phantom and Base. If you prefer, you can top up with stablecoins or use the wallet built into the app.

The FAQ lists these tokens: USDC, USDT, BNB, USDR, EURR, BTC, DOGE, ETH, SOL, TRX, XRP, XTZ, TON, VET, XAUT, LTC, XLM, TRUMP, ADA, BCH, SHIB and Oobit's own OOB token. Supported networks are Ethereum, BNB Smart Chain, Solana and Polygon.

Who stands behind it:

  • Issuer. ThirdNational issues the card under a Visa license.
  • Operating companies. Oobit Technologies UAB in Vilnius, authorised by the Lithuanian FCIS, and Oobit Technologies ApS in Denmark. US services run through Bakkt Financial Solutions.
  • Investors. Tether led Oobit's $25 million Series A, as CoinDesk reported on 5 February 2024.
  • Card tier. Visa Platinum benefits apply: price protection, purchase protection, extended warranty and auto rental cover.

A physical card is not confirmed on the pages we read. Treat Oobit mostly as a virtual card that lives in your phone wallet.

What fees and limits does Oobit have?

A card payment costs 1% of the purchase or $0.25, whichever is higher. There is no monthly fee and no fee to issue or hold the card. Swaps cost 0.95%, crypto withdrawals cost only the network fee, and card spending is capped at $10,000 per day. Oobit's own sources disagree on foreign exchange costs.

ItemOobit
Card payment1% of purchase, minimum $0.25
BrazilNo minimum, but IOF tax and FX apply
Monthly feeNone
Card issuance or holding feeNone
FX on non-USD purchasesUp to 1.5% per card terms; the FAQ only says USD is the base currency and conversion is automatic
Swaps0.95%, or 3% when the asset you receive is OOB
Crypto withdrawalNetwork fee only
Buying crypto by cardNo Oobit fee, but partner Transak charges its own fees
Returned payment$29
Card spend limitUp to $10,000 per day
Bank transfer limit$50,000 per transaction
Top-up limitNot stated on the official site (checked 2026-10-08)
ATM fee and limitNot stated on the official site (checked 2026-10-08)

The $0.25 minimum matters more than it looks. On a $5 coffee it works out to 5% of the purchase. On a $100 grocery run it falls back to the normal 1%. If most of your spending is small, the effective cost climbs fast.

There is one unresolved discrepancy. A help center snippet we saw quoted tap payments at "1.35% + $0.49". The full page returned an error, and the FAQ and card terms both say 1% with a $0.25 minimum. We go with the FAQ and terms, but check the fee shown in the app before you pay.

Spend limits are not fixed either. The card terms say they are dynamic and may change without notice.

How does Oobit cashback work?

Oobit advertises cashback of "up to 10%". The FAQ sets two caps: paying with the OOB token earns cashback on up to $10,000 of payments per calendar month, while paying with any other token earns it on up to $200 per month. The base rate for non-OOB tokens is not stated on the pages we read.

In practice the headline number depends on the OOB token. To get cashback on a meaningful amount, you pay in OOB, which means holding a token whose price can fall. If you pay in USDC or BTC, cashback covers only the first $200 of monthly spending, at a rate Oobit does not publish on those pages.

Who is Oobit for, and who should avoid it?

Oobit fits people who already hold crypto in MetaMask, Trust, Phantom or a Base wallet, live in a supported country and want to pay by phone without moving funds to an exchange first. It does not fit residents of Russia or other unsupported countries, people who mostly make small purchases, or anyone who needs a published ATM fee.

It works well when:

  • you spend in larger amounts, where the $0.25 minimum does not bite;
  • you want funds to stay in your own wallet until the moment of payment;
  • you are fine with a virtual card in Apple Pay or Google Wallet.

It works poorly when:

  • your typical purchase is a few dollars;
  • you want cashback without holding OOB;
  • you need cash withdrawals with clear terms;
  • you live in a country not on Oobit's list.

To see how Oobit sits next to other cards, our crypto cards comparison puts fees and cashback side by side.

A young woman with a smartphone on a bench in a sunny park
Paying from your phone with the app and the card

Which countries does Oobit support?

Oobit's FAQ says it works in 74 countries and territories, but its news page says more than 80 and its B2B documentation says over 100. The counts do not match. Russia is unsupported. The FAQ also says the app is available in all 50 US states, while the card terms ask you to confirm you are not a US citizen.

The FAQ breaks its 74 down this way: Europe 39, Asia and the Middle East 10, North and Central America 10, South America 8, Africa 2, Oceania 2.

Russia and sanctioned countries. A support article titled "Oobit Unsupported Countries" lists Russia, Belarus, China, Cuba, Iran, Iraq, Lebanon, Libya, North Korea, Somalia, South Sudan, Sudan, Syria, Venezuela, Yemen and others. We saw this list only as a snippet and could not read the full page.

Other CIS countries. Kazakhstan, Ukraine and Georgia are not mentioned on the pages we checked, so their status is unknown.

Latin America. Oobit officially launched in Argentina on 11 March 2026, according to its news page. Snippets also mention Brazil since November 2024, plus Colombia and Chile.

Israel. Not confirmed on the pages we read.

United States. US services run through Bakkt Financial Solutions, which probably explains how the app can be available in all 50 states. Still, the card terms require you to attest that you are not a US citizen. We could not resolve this, so US readers should check what the app offers them at signup.

Is Oobit safe, and who controls the funds?

Oobit's sources describe custody in two different ways. The FAQ says you stay in full control of your assets until the moment of payment. The crypto card page says the card uses your digital assets as collateral and is classed as a credit card. No hack, exploit or lawsuit turned up in our news search on 2026-10-08.

The crypto card page adds that there is no credit line, no loans and no interest. The card terms confirm 0% interest and list a "liquidation fee (Reserved)" with no amount. So the card is formally a credit product secured by your crypto, even though you do not borrow anything in the usual sense. Both statements are Oobit's own, and we show them as they are.

What else we found:

  • Incidents. None found in searches of major crypto news sites. That is a search result, not proof that nothing happened.
  • Infrastructure. The app store vendor statement mentions MPC technology, Fireblocks and insured assets. Oobit's main pages do not confirm this.
  • App ratings. Oobit reports 4.8 on the App Store from over 22,000 ratings and 4.7 to 4.8 on Google Play from over 25,000. These are Oobit's own numbers.
  • Complaints. We did not find user complaints in our search.
  • Support. Live chat in the app, a help center and the FAQ. Email and phone support are not stated.

KYC is required. You need a government photo ID and sometimes proof of address. Oobit says most people are verified in minutes, while some checks take up to 24 hours.

How do you start with Oobit?

Oobit's official steps are short: install the app, connect a wallet or create one inside the app, pass KYC, then add the card to Apple Pay or Google Wallet. Everything happens on your phone. Check that your country is supported before you begin, because verification is where a refusal would show up.

  1. Download the Oobit app from the App Store or Google Play. You can open Oobit through our link.
  2. Connect your existing wallet, such as MetaMask, Trust, Phantom or Base, or create the built-in wallet.
  3. Complete KYC with a government photo ID, and proof of address if asked.
  4. Add the card to Apple Pay or Google Wallet and pay.

What are the risks of Oobit?

The main risks sit in the card terms. Oobit or the issuer may deny or reverse charges for any reason, and spend limits can change without notice. Disputes go to AAA arbitration in New York, and you waive the right to join a class action. Cashback depends on the OOB token.

In more detail:

  • Reversed charges. A payment can be declined or reversed at Oobit's or the issuer's discretion.
  • Changing limits. The $10,000 daily cap is a ceiling, not a guarantee, since limits are dynamic.
  • Arbitration. You cannot sue as part of a group. Disputes are settled individually through AAA in New York.
  • Token risk. The large cashback cap only applies when paying in OOB, so the reward is tied to the price of one token.
  • Small purchases. With a $0.25 minimum, a $5 purchase costs 5%.
  • Unclear ATM access. Oobit's marketing says you can "turn crypto into cash at any contactless ATM", but gives no fee or limit and does not say whether this is a card feature or a separate cash-out service.
A hand holding a smartphone over a coffee table by the window
Check the fee and your country before you sign up

How does Oobit compare with Gnosis Pay, KAST and RedotPay?

Oobit charges 1% per purchase with a $0.25 minimum and keeps funds in your wallet until you pay. Gnosis Pay is also non-custodial and charges no transaction fee, but covers only selected countries. KAST is custodial, free on its Standard tier and pays 1.5% cashback. RedotPay is prefunded and sells cards from $10.

OobitGnosis PayKASTRedotPay
CustodyYour wallet until payment; terms call the card collateral-backedNon-custodial Safe on Gnosis ChainCustodialPrefunded, custodial
Card costFreeFree, replacement 4.99Standard $0 per year; first two virtual cards free in most countries, physical card $40 deliveryVirtual $10, physical $100
Transaction fee1%, min $0.25None0%Not read
FXUp to 1.5% per termsVisa rate, no added fee0.5-1.75% non-USDNot read
CashbackUp to 10% claimed; OOB cap $10,000/month, other tokens $200/monthProgramme ended 2026-09-301.5% on first $2,000/month (Standard)3% on Apple/Google Pay with Pro, capped at $18/month, store credit
ATMUnclear5 free withdrawals or 200 per month, then 2%$3 + 2%Fee waivers up to $1,000/month with Pro
Limits$10,000 per day8,000 per day, 5,000 per transactionNot covered hereNot read
Coverage74 countries per FAQSelected countries in Europe and Latin America170+ countries claimed130M+ merchants

Gnosis Pay. Per its fees page updated on 27 April 2026, it charges no transaction fee and uses the Visa FX rate with no markup. Its cashback programme, up to 4% base plus a 1% NFT bonus in GNO, ended on 30 September 2026, with the final payout on 7 October 2026. It is the closest match to Oobit on custody and cheaper per purchase, but available in far fewer places.

KAST. Our KAST Card review covers it in detail. The fees page shows Standard at 1.5%, Premium at $1,000 per year with 2% and Private at $10,000 per year with 3%. An older KAST blog post from March 2026 showed different tiers of 1%, 3% and 5%; we use the fees page.

RedotPay. The Pro plan costs $12.90 per month or $129 per year. Its 3% cashback is capped at $18 a month and paid as store credit that expires in 30 days. Base FX and ATM fees were not on the pages we read.

One more card worth a look is covered in our Tria Card review.

FAQ

Can I use Oobit in Russia?

No. Russia is on Oobit's unsupported countries list, along with Belarus, China, Iran, North Korea and others, according to the support article we saw as a snippet. Other CIS countries such as Kazakhstan, Ukraine and Georgia are not mentioned on the official pages, so check in the app before passing KYC.

How much does Oobit charge per purchase?

1% of the purchase or $0.25, whichever is higher, per both the FAQ and card terms. There is no monthly or card fee. Card terms add FX of up to 1.5% on non-USD purchases. A help center snippet quoted 1.35% + $0.49 for tap payments, which we could not confirm.

Is the 10% cashback real?

"Up to 10%" is Oobit's marketing figure. Cashback applies to up to $10,000 of monthly payments if you pay in OOB and up to $200 if you pay in any other token. The base rate for non-OOB tokens is not stated on the pages we read, so the headline figure depends on holding OOB.

Does Oobit keep my crypto?

The FAQ says you stay in full control of your assets until the moment of payment, and Oobit connects to wallets like MetaMask and Phantom. The crypto card page says the card uses your assets as collateral and is classed as a credit card, with no loans or interest.

Can I withdraw cash at an ATM?

Oobit's marketing says you can turn crypto into cash at any contactless ATM, but no fee or limit is stated on the official site (checked 2026-10-08). It is also unclear whether this is a card feature or a separate cash-out service.

Is there a physical Oobit card?

A physical card is not confirmed on the official pages we read. The official setup ends with adding the card to Apple Pay or Google Wallet, so plan on using Oobit as a virtual card on your phone.

This article contains a referral link: we may receive a reward if you register through it. It does not change the figures or conclusions.