How to choose a bitcoin mining pool: 8-criteria checklist
Most pool advice starts with "pick the lowest fee." That works above a petahash but misleads everyone else. At home scale the payout threshold decides whether you see money in three weeks or in seven months, and the fee difference amounts to pocket change. This checklist ranks eight criteria by how much each one actually costs you at different fleet sizes, with real fee and threshold data from the pools we verified in August 2026.
The 8 criteria, ranked by impact
Not all eight matter equally. Their order shifts depending on how much hashrate you run. The table below sets the priority, then each section explains the criterion in detail.
| # | Criterion | Matters most at | Matters least at |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Payout threshold | under 500 TH/s | above 10 PH/s |
| 2 | Pool fee | above 1 PH/s | under 500 TH/s |
| 3 | Payout scheme (FPPS, PPS+, PPLNS) | all sizes, differently | solo |
| 4 | Uptime and reject rate | all sizes equally | any |
| 5 | Supported coins and auto-conversion | multi-coin miners | BTC-only miners |
| 6 | Minimum payout frequency and withdrawal terms | miners on a budget | large farms with reserves |
| 7 | Transparency, reporting, and KYC | large farms, tax-conscious miners | hobby miners |
| 8 | Support and documentation language | home miners debugging alone | large operations with staff |
Criterion 1: payout threshold
How long you wait for your first payment depends on the threshold, not the fee. At 100 TH/s:
| Threshold | Approximate days to fill |
|---|---|
| 0.0001 BTC | about 2 days |
| 0.00001 BTC | less than 1 day |
| 0.001 BTC | about 21 days |
| 0.005 BTC | about 107 days |
| 0.01 BTC | about 215 days |
Pools with the lowest thresholds (verified August 2026):
| Pool | Min payout | Fee | Scheme |
|---|---|---|---|
| NiceHash | 0.00001 BTC | 2% | RTPPS (hashpower marketplace) |
| Tpool | 0.0001 BTC | 0.9% | FPPS |
| EMCD | 0.0001 BTC | 4% | FPPS |
| Promminer | 0.0001 BTC | 3% | FPPS |
| Trustpool | 0.001 BTC | 1% | PPS+ |
| Luxor | 0.001 BTC | 2.5% | FPPS |
At the other end, Foundry USA has a 0.01 BTC threshold (about 215 days at 100 TH/s). That rules it out for home miners but clears in under a day at 10+ PH/s.
For Bitaxe-class devices at about 1 TH/s, a 0.005 BTC threshold takes roughly 10,700 days (about 29 years). The pool works. The payout does not arrive.
Criterion 2: pool fee
The fee is a percentage of your gross mining income. How much that costs in dollars depends on your hashrate:
| Hashrate | Fee gap: 0.9% vs 4% | Annual difference |
|---|---|---|
| 100 TH/s | about $0.10/day | about $36/year |
| 1 PH/s | about $0.94/day | about $343/year |
| 10 PH/s | about $9.40/day | about $3,430/year |
| 47 PH/s (100x S21 XP Hyd) | about $44/day | about $16,100/year |
Below a petahash the electricity bill outweighs the pool choice entirely. At $0.12/kWh a home 100 TH/s loses money in every pool on our list: about $3.01 earned against $3.46 spent on power.
Fee comparison across BTC pools (verified August 2026):
| Pool | Fee | Scheme(s) |
|---|---|---|
| Tpool | 0.9% | FPPS |
| Trustpool | 1% | PPS+ |
| NiceHash | 2% | RTPPS |
| Luxor | 2.5% | FPPS |
| Promminer | 3% | FPPS |
| Kryptex Pool | 3% | PPS+ |
| AntPool | 4% | FPPS / PPS / PPLNS |
| Binance Pool | 4% | FPPS |
| EMCD | 4% | FPPS |
| F2Pool | 4% (FPPS) / 2% (PPLNS) | FPPS / PPLNS |
| ViaBTC | 4% (PPS+) / 2% (PPLNS) | PPS+ / PPLNS |
| Foundry USA | not disclosed (tiered, negotiated) | FPPS |
| Neopool | not disclosed | FPPS |
Criterion 3: payout scheme
The scheme determines who carries the risk of unlucky block timing:
- FPPS pays a fixed rate per share, including transaction fees. Steadiest income. Highest fee.
- PPS+ guarantees the subsidy per share, distributes tx fees only when blocks are found. Slightly less smooth, slightly cheaper.
- PPLNS pays only when the pool finds a block. Income bounces. Fee is typically lower (F2Pool 2%, ViaBTC 2% in PPLNS mode).
- SOLO pays the full block reward if your machine finds one. At 100 TH/s the expected wait is about 178 years.
Over a long horizon all honest schemes converge to roughly the same expected income, adjusted for fee. The scheme ranks third for your wallet and first for your nerves. A deep dive into each scheme with numbers is in our FPPS vs PPLNS comparison.
Criterion 4: uptime and reject rate
An hour of downtime costs more than the entire annual fee spread between the cheapest and most expensive pool. A couple of percent of rejected shares similarly outweighs the fee difference across the market.
No ranking can measure this for you. It depends on the route between your hardware and the pool's stratum server. The only way to know is to test with your own machines, watch reject rates in the pool dashboard, and compare stratum latency.
What to look for:
- Multiple stratum servers in your region
- Historical uptime record (some pools publish status pages)
- Reject rate below 1% on your hardware
Criterion 5: supported coins and auto-conversion
If you mine only BTC, every pool in the table above works. If you run Kaspa, Ethereum Classic, or other GPU/ASIC-mineable coins alongside BTC, check which pools support them:
| Pool | Supported coins |
|---|---|
| AntPool | BTC, BCH, LTC, ETC, KAS |
| ViaBTC | BTC, BCH, LTC, ETC, DASH, ZEC |
| F2Pool | BTC, LTC, ETC, RVN, KAS |
| EMCD | BTC, LTC, DOGE, DASH, ETC |
| Tpool | BTC, FB, BCH, LTC, DOGE, DASH, ETC, ZEC |
Some pools offer auto-conversion of mined altcoins to BTC. This saves you a manual swap but usually at the pool's exchange rate, not necessarily the best available.
Criterion 6: payout frequency and withdrawal terms
How often you actually receive money, and who pays the on-chain fee for the transfer. Some pools pay daily, some weekly, some only when you hit the threshold. Tpool states that it covers the network fee for withdrawals. Most others deduct it from your balance.
At small hashrate, the practical payout frequency is determined by the threshold (criterion 1) more than by the pool's stated schedule.
At large scale, ask:
- How often does the pool settle? Daily, weekly, on demand?
- Who pays the on-chain withdrawal fee?
- Can you set a custom payout address and change it without delay?
Criterion 7: transparency, reporting, and KYC
For hobby mining with one ASIC, KYC and detailed reporting rarely matter. For a business, every payout is a taxable event, and you need:
- Exportable payout history (CSV or API)
- Per-worker stats for cost allocation
- Access to raw share data to reconcile credited amounts against expected income
KYC requirements vary:
- Foundry USA requires KYC through an application process.
- Most other pools (AntPool, F2Pool, ViaBTC, Luxor, Trustpool, EMCD, Promminer, Tpool) require account registration but not formal identity verification for standard use.
- solo.ckpool.org and Braiins Solo require no account at all. Your BTC address is the username.
Criterion 8: support and documentation language
When your worker stops submitting shares at 2 AM and you need to debug, the pool's support channel and its documentation language matter. At home scale you are the one doing the troubleshooting. At farm scale you have staff, and the documentation language matters less.
Most large pools (AntPool, F2Pool, ViaBTC, Binance Pool) have English and Chinese documentation. Promminer and EMCD have Russian. Luxor has English. Check before you commit.
Which pool for which size: quick reference
| Your setup | Start with criterion | Top candidates (verified Aug 2026) |
|---|---|---|
| 1 ASIC at home | #1 payout threshold | Tpool (0.9%, 0.0001 BTC), EMCD (4%, 0.0001 BTC), Promminer (3%, 0.0001 BTC), Trustpool (1%, 0.001 BTC) |
| 5 to 10 ASICs | #3 scheme, #4 uptime | Trustpool (1%, PPS+), Luxor (2.5%, FPPS), ViaBTC (2% PPLNS), F2Pool (2% PPLNS) |
| 50 to 100 ASICs | #2 fee, #4 uptime | Tpool, Trustpool, Luxor, plus enquiry to Foundry USA |
| 1 PH/s and above | #2 negotiated rate | Foundry USA, Neopool (both negotiate individually) |
| Solo | patience and reserves | solo.ckpool.org (2%), Braiins Solo (0.5%), ViaBTC SOLO mode |
The checklist on one page
Before picking a pool, walk through these eight questions in order. Skip any that do not apply to your scale.
- Can I clear this pool's payout threshold in a reasonable time at my hashrate?
- What is the effective fee, and at my hashrate, how many dollars per year does that cost?
- Which payout scheme fits my tolerance for income volatility?
- What is my reject rate on this pool's stratum, and does the pool have servers near me?
- Does the pool support every coin I mine?
- How often will I actually receive payouts, and who pays the withdrawal fee?
- Can I export payout data for tax reporting? Does the pool require KYC?
- Is documentation available in a language I can debug in at 2 AM?
Run the income math for your specific hardware in the mining profitability calculator. Compare all pools side by side in the pool ranking. Check which ASIC models are still profitable at your electricity rate in the miner ranking.
FAQ
Which pool should I choose with a single ASIC?
Pick by threshold first. A 100 TH/s machine fills 0.0001 BTC in roughly 2 days (Tpool, EMCD, Promminer) but needs about 107 days for 0.005 BTC (AntPool, F2Pool).
At what farm size does the pool fee start to matter more than the threshold?
Near 1 PH/s. Under it, the 0.9% versus 4% spread is about $36 a year on 100 TH/s, and power costs dwarf it. At 1 PH/s the spread reaches about $343 and scales in a straight line.
Is it worth switching pools for a lower fee?
For a home rig, saving $0.10 a day is not worth an evening of setup. At several petahashes it pays, once you count the downtime and the shares still unpaid in the old pool's PPLNS window.
Where can I mine solo without registering?
Two services take your BTC address as the username: solo.ckpool.org (2%, charged only on a block you find) and Braiins Solo (0.5%), as of August 2026. No account on either.
Why do Foundry USA and Neopool not show a fee?
Neither lists one public rate. Foundry USA prices in tiers after an application and KYC. A big site may get a deal below any posted tariff, while a home miner has no reference to verify earnings.
Does NiceHash suit a home miner?
Its 0.00001 BTC threshold is the lowest we verified, so even weak hardware gets paid often. But it is a hashpower marketplace: buyers pay a demand-driven rate, and real income strays from a mining calculation more than at an FPPS pool.
This article contains referral links to mining pools (marked as sponsored). We may receive a reward if you register through them. This does not change the figures or the order of rows in the tables: the terms are taken from the pools' official pages.



