OKX review 2026: fees, countries, security, who it fits

OKX makes sense for traders and miners outside the US, UK and other restricted markets who want low spot fees (0.08% maker, 0.10% taker at the base tier), futures and monthly proof of reserves. It is a poor fit for US residents of the global platform, for anyone who wants a clean regulatory record, and for long-term storage of coins.

POOL BTC is an independent comparison site, not OKX and not a mining pool, and nothing here is investment advice. The figures below come from OKX's official fee notices, help center and disclosures, checked on 2026-10-05. Where we rely on third parties, we say so.

What is OKX?

OKX is a centralized crypto exchange with spot trading, perpetuals, futures and options, a P2P marketplace, an OTC desk and a Web3 wallet. The global platform is run by Aux Cayes FinTech Co. Ltd. in Seychelles. It started in 2017 as OKEx and rebranded to OKX around January 2022. Coins on the exchange are held by OKX, so it is custodial.

OKX also runs separate regional entities. OKX Europe Limited received MiCA authorisation as a crypto-asset service provider from the Malta Financial Services Authority on January 27, 2025, and passports that licence across the EEA. In Dubai, OKX Middle East Fintech FZE holds a VARA licence issued on September 17, 2024, and OKX's disclosure updated July 20, 2026 lists it as active. In the US, a separate company, OKX INC., is registered with FinCEN as a money services business. Since June 2, 2025 it has offered spot plus buy, sell and convert, but not in New York, Texas or some territories.

How much does OKX charge?

On the global platform, regular users pay 0.08% maker and 0.10% taker on spot, and 0.02% maker and 0.05% taker on futures. Five stablecoin pairs, including USDC/USDT, trade at zero fees. Crypto deposits cost nothing on OKX's side, and the sender pays the network fee. These rates took effect on August 14, 2026 per OKX's official notices.

TierSpot makerSpot taker
Regular0.08%0.10%
VIP1 (from 100,000 USD in assets or 1M USD 30-day volume)0.0675%0.08%
VIP20.06%0.07%
VIP30.055%0.065%
VIP40.03%0.045%
VIP50.025%0.035%
VIP60%0.03%
VIP9-0.005%0.015%
Futures, Regular0.02%0.05%
Futures, VIP10.016%0.045%

The zero-fee spot pairs are DAI/USDT, PYUSD/USDT, USDC/USDT, USDG/USDT and USDT/USD. Expiry settlement on futures costs 0.01%. OKX also published a fee adjustment notice dated September 9, 2026, so check the live fee page before you rely on the table.

US users of OKX INC. pay a different schedule. Since February 1, 2026, regular spot fees there are 0.20% maker and 0.35% taker, far above the global rate.

Withdrawal fees are dynamic, and we did not find a static official table. An OKX learn article gives indicative numbers: about 0.0003 BTC for a BTC withdrawal with a 0.001 BTC minimum, and about 1 USDT on ERC20, TRC20 or BEP20 with a 10 USDT minimum. That article says plainly it is not the official schedule. The real figure appears in the withdrawal window. P2P fees are not stated on the official site (checked 2026-10-05). Fiat on-ramp fees are shown at the moment of purchase.

What KYC does OKX require?

KYC is mandatory on OKX for trading, deposits and withdrawals, and the minimum age is 18. Basic verification needs a government photo ID and gives roughly $10,000 a day. Advanced adds proof of address and a selfie face check, for roughly $1,000,000 a day. Businesses go through institutional verification.

LevelWhat you provideIndicative daily limit
BasicGovernment photo IDAbout $10,000
AdvancedBasic plus proof of address and a selfie checkAbout $1,000,000
InstitutionalBusiness documentsNot stated

Proof of address must be no older than six months in the EEA and three months elsewhere. The limit figures come from an OKX learn article, so treat them as a guide. US customers of OKX INC. also need a Social Security number.

Who is OKX for, and who should skip it?

OKX suits active traders and miners outside the restricted list who sell BTC for USDT regularly and care about base fees. Its 0.08% maker rate is below the 0.10% that third parties list for Binance and Bybit. It also works for people in the EEA who want a MiCA-licensed entity, and for anyone who likes to check reserves every month.

Skip the global platform if you live in the US, Canada, India, Japan, Hong Kong or another fully restricted country. UK residents lose derivatives, CeFi products and P2P. Skip OKX if a guilty plea in a US court is a dealbreaker for you, and do not treat an exchange balance as savings. If you mine, our mining calculator shows how much BTC you will sell each month.

A woman reading papers at a desk by a window
Check which exchange services are available in your country before signing up

Which countries can use OKX?

The global OKX entity fully blocks a long list of countries, including the United States, Canada, India, Japan, Hong Kong and Nigeria. Several large markets get partial service. Russia is not fully blocked, but fiat payment services there are restricted. Argentina, Mexico and Colombia are not on the blocked list. Check the official list before you register.

Fully restricted: Afghanistan, Bangladesh, Canada, Cuba, El Salvador, Hong Kong, Iran, India, Japan, Malaysia, Nepal, Nigeria, North Korea, Syria, the Crimea, Donetsk and Luhansk regions, the United States (global platform) and Uzbekistan. OKX's EEA disclosure also lists Algeria and France.

Partially restricted:

CountryWhat is restricted
RussiaFiat payment services
BrazilDerivatives and P2P
AustraliaDerivatives and CeFi
SingaporeCeFi
South KoreaDerivatives and P2P
United KingdomDerivatives, CeFi and P2P
BahamasRetail
EritreaP2P

In Russia, spot trading appears to be available. Whether ruble P2P works is not stated on the official site (checked 2026-10-05). Argentina is in a similar spot: it is not restricted, but OKX does not say whether peso P2P is available. Do not try to get around any of these restrictions.

Is OKX safe? Proof of reserves, the 2025 guilty plea and the 2024 incident

OKX publishes proof of reserves monthly. The 47th report, dated September 8, 2026, shows $27.4 billion in primary assets and a BTC reserve ratio of 109%. No exchange-wide hack or loss of user funds has been disclosed. The weak points are a 2025 US guilty plea and a 2024 SIM-swap case.

AssetReserve ratioDetail
BTC109%153,151 BTC in wallets vs 139,865 BTC in user accounts
ETH101%
USDT105%
USDC100%
OKB108%
DOGE101%

Users can verify their own balance through a zk-STARK proof and a Merkle tree. Two-factor authentication works with Google Authenticator or SMS, and OKX recommends the authenticator app. EU client funds are segregated under MiCA. The Web3 wallet has a self-custody option. We did not find any insurance or protection fund on OKX's main pages (checked 2026-10-05).

On February 24, 2025, Aux Cayes FinTech pleaded guilty in the Southern District of New York to operating an unlicensed money transmitting business. It agreed to a fine of $84,457,629 and forfeiture of $420,353,574, about $504.8 million in total, plus an external compliance consultant through February 2027. According to the DOJ, OKX served US customers from 2018 to early 2024 without registering and facilitated more than $5 billion in suspicious transactions and illicit proceeds. OKX called these "legacy compliance gaps" and pointed out that no employee was charged, no government monitor was appointed and the company cooperated, as Reuters reported on the day.

The 2024 incident was smaller. On June 9, 2024, attackers took over two accounts of Japanese users through SIM swaps. Security firm Dilation Effect claimed OKX let users downgrade from the authenticator to SMS for sensitive actions without a 24-hour withdrawal lock. OKX disputed this. It said the case had nothing to do with authenticator or SMS settings and that the attackers used forged court documents to obtain personal data. OKX compensated the affected users and added AI facial recognition and expiry for address book entries, as CoinTelegraph, Protos and ForkLog reported at the time.

How to start on OKX

  1. Register on OKX with email or phone.
  2. Complete KYC. Basic needs a photo ID, Advanced adds proof of address and a selfie.
  3. Deposit crypto, for example mined BTC sent to your OKX deposit address, or buy with fiat.
  4. Choose the product and place your order.
  5. Set up two-factor authentication, preferably with an authenticator app rather than SMS.

These steps follow OKX's official guide. New users who register through an invite may receive a new-user bonus under OKX's official terms. We did not capture those conditions, so read them on OKX before counting on anything.

Support runs 24/7 through live chat, where a reply typically takes 2 to 5 minutes, plus tickets in the Help Center and video call appointments. OKX has no public phone number and says any number outside official channels is a scam.

A sunny city park with glass buildings in the distance
Verification and regional rules decide what you can actually use

What are the risks of using OKX?

Custody is the main one. Coins on OKX are OKX's liability until you withdraw them, and no insurance fund is disclosed on the main pages. Regulation comes second: the 2025 guilty plea comes with a compliance consultant until February 2027, and what you can use depends on the country and the OKX entity that serves it.

If an exchange leaves your country or shuts down, our guide on what to do with funds when an exchange closes walks through the steps using the BitMEX and BitMart cases. The 2024 SIM-swap case is also a good argument for an authenticator app over SMS.

Derivatives can wipe out a deposit quickly, and fee schedules change, as the September 2026 notice shows. Nothing in this review is a price forecast.

How does OKX compare with Binance, Bybit and Kraken?

On third-party figures, OKX has the lowest base spot maker fee of the four at 0.08%, and futures taker fees sit close together at 0.05%-0.055%. Kraken is the only one of the four whose main platform serves US users. Bybit and Binance list more spot coins.

OKXBinanceBybitKraken
Spot maker / taker, base tier0.08% / 0.10%0.10% / 0.10%0.10% / 0.10%Disputed: 0.40% / 0.80% or 0.16% / 0.26%
Futures taker, base tier0.05%0.05%0.055%0.05%
Spot coinsAbout 302350+400+Not checked
US usersGlobal platform blocked, OKX INC. separateGlobal blocked, Binance.US separateBlockedAvailable
Proof of reservesMonthly, 47th reportNot checkedNot checkedNot checked

The OKX column comes from official pages, except the coin count, which CoinLaw gives citing CoinGecko on October 2, 2026. The Binance, Bybit and Kraken figures are as listed by third parties in 2026, so verify them on each exchange's official page. Kraken is the messy one: a July 2026 source lists 0.40% and 0.80%, a March 2026 source lists 0.16% and 0.26%. Check Kraken's own fee page. For a closer look at one rival, read our Bybit review, and if you also want to spend crypto, see the crypto cards by region guide. The exchange comparison lists rates across more platforms.

FAQ

Is OKX available in Russia?

Russia is not on the fully restricted list, but fiat payment services are restricted there. Spot trading appears to be available. Whether ruble P2P works is not stated on the official site (checked 2026-10-05).

Can US residents use OKX?

Not the global platform. US users can use OKX INC., a separate FinCEN-registered company that has offered spot, buy, sell and convert since June 2, 2025, outside New York, Texas and some territories. Its regular spot fees are 0.20% maker and 0.35% taker.

What does OKX charge for spot trading?

At the regular tier, 0.08% maker and 0.10% taker, effective August 14, 2026. VIP1 starts at 100,000 USD in assets or 1 million USD in 30-day volume. A fee adjustment notice from September 9, 2026 exists, so confirm the rate on the live page.

How much does it cost to withdraw BTC from OKX?

The fee is dynamic and shown in the withdrawal window. An OKX learn article gives about 0.0003 BTC with a 0.001 BTC minimum as an indicative figure and says it is not the official schedule.

Can I use OKX without KYC?

No. KYC is required for trading, deposits and withdrawals. Basic verification with a photo ID gives roughly $10,000 a day.

Did OKX lose user funds in a hack?

No exchange-wide hack or loss of user funds has been disclosed. In June 2024 two Japanese users lost control of their accounts through SIM swaps, and OKX compensated them. If the fees and country rules work for you, you can open an account on OKX and test a small withdrawal first.

This article contains a referral link: we may receive a reward if you register through it. It does not change the figures or conclusions.