Keystone 3 Pro review 2026: price, security, audits, countries, risks, who it fits

Keystone 3 Pro is a reasonable buy for someone who wants an air-gapped hardware wallet that signs through QR codes, keeps Bitcoin and thousands of other coins, and works with Sparrow, MetaMask and over 45 other wallets. At USD 149 it suits multisig and multi-wallet users. It suits less those who need long battery life or a clean audit record.

POOL BTC is an independent comparison site. We are not Keystone, we do not sell wallets, and nothing here is investment advice. Facts come from the official keyst.one store, support and terms pages checked on 2026-10-11, the published audit reports, and the third-party sources named in the text.

What is Keystone 3 Pro?

Keystone 3 Pro is the current hardware wallet from Keystone, sold at keyst.one. It stores private keys offline and signs transactions through animated QR codes or a microSD card, so it does not need a cable or wireless link to your computer. On POOL BTC it is listed as Keystone Pro.

The name causes some confusion. Keystone Pro was the older generation, which the support docs still list at USD 169. The model you buy today is Keystone 3 Pro, with different hardware. Keystone itself is a rebrand of Cobo Vault, an earlier wallet. The seller named on the store is Yanssie HK Limited, based in Hong Kong.

You pair the device with a software wallet on your phone or computer. The software builds transactions and shows balances. The device holds the keys, shows what you are signing and returns a signed QR code.

How much does Keystone 3 Pro cost, and what is in the box?

The official product page lists Keystone 3 Pro at USD 149.00 on 2026-10-11. Shipping is free to the USA, Australia and Europe, except Switzerland and Norway, on orders over USD 30.

ItemPrice
Keystone 3 ProUSD 149.00
MetaMask co-branded editionUSD 249
Customization editionUSD 249
Keystone Care+ add-on, product pageUSD 19
Keystone Care+, terms pageUSD 50 for 2 years, USD 100 for 3 years
Keystone Pro, older generation, support docsUSD 169

The two official pages disagree on Care+. The product page shows a USD 19 add-on, while the terms page lists USD 50 for two years and USD 100 for three. We could not tell which applies at checkout, so look at the cart before you pay.

The box contains the device, a user manual, six seed sheets and a USB cable. The warranty is one year from delivery for purchases made from 2025-01-01, down from two years before that. It cannot be transferred and does not cover physical damage or modified firmware.

How does Keystone 3 Pro protect your keys?

Keystone 3 Pro uses three secure elements, a tamper mesh that wipes keys when the case is opened, and air-gapped signing by QR code or microSD. USB can be switched off entirely in Air-Gap Mode. Independent audits found one high-severity tamper issue in 2023, and a USB bug was fixed in April 2026.

The three secure elements are the Microchip DS28C50, the Maxim MAX32520 and the Microchip ATECC608A. The main processor is a Megahunt MH1903, a chip graded for payment terminals. The circuit board has a protective mesh, and a coin cell keeps the tamper circuit powered, according to the Keylabs audit. A fingerprint sensor can unlock the device and confirm signing, and you can turn it off. Bluetooth and NFC are not stated on the official site.

The firmware, written in Rust and C on FreeRTOS, is public on GitHub in the KeystoneHQ/keystone3-firmware repository. The hardware schematic and SDKs are published too. One part is closed: the processor vendor library ships precompiled, and GitHub lists the license as Other.

Audits. Keylabs published a full hardware and firmware audit on 2023-11-22. It found one High issue: an attacker with physical access could manipulate internal communication so that a tamper event is not recorded. It also found two Low firmware issues, three Low hardware issues and one informational note. Those hardware findings include that removing the screen does not trigger the tamper response, the tamper level logic is static, the case has no tamper response and the board has test points. On the positive side, Keylabs called it the first wallet it audited with a fully working tamper circuit and noted the PUF keys and the three secure elements. We found no public confirmation that the High issue has been patched.

Least Authority audited Zcash signing only, for Zcash Community Grants, with a final report on 2025-03-20. It reported no critical issues and five suggestions, all resolved. A 2020 PeckShield audit covered Cobo Vault, the predecessor, not Keystone 3.

The 2026 USB vulnerability. OneKey ANZEN Research, the security team of a competing wallet maker, published the details on 2026-10-04. During a joint audit with Keystone in March 2026 it found a buffer overflow in the USB code of the processor vendor SDK that could allow code execution and seed extraction. The attack needs all of the following at once: physical possession, the correct PIN, an unlocked device, the user approving the USB connection, and a computer controlled by the attacker. Keystone fixed it in firmware v2.4.0, released 2026-04-01. QR-only Air-Gap Mode avoids this path, and no evidence of active exploitation was found.

A hardware wallet held in a hand
The wallet signs transactions through QR codes with no network link

Which coins and wallets does Keystone 3 Pro support?

Keystone 3 Pro runs one of three firmware builds. Multi-Coin supports over 5,500 coins, Bitcoin-Only keeps just Bitcoin and testnet, and Cypherpunk covers Bitcoin, Zcash and Monero. More than 45 software wallets connect to it, including Sparrow, BlueWallet, Electrum and MetaMask, with Taproot and PSBT multisig for Bitcoin.

FirmwareCoinsCurrent version
Multi-Coin5,500+: BTC, ETH, SOL, USDT, BCH, XRP, TRON, LTC, DASH, DOT, ADA, XLM, ZEC, XMR, TON and othersv3.1.2, 2026-10-10
Bitcoin-OnlyBTC and testnetv3.1.0, 2026-09-17
CypherpunkBTC, ZEC, XMRv3.0.4, 2026-08-12

For Bitcoin, Taproot works through Sparrow and BlueWallet. Multisig runs on PSBT, and the Keystone team co-authored BIP-129, a standard for setting up multisig wallets. Bitcoin wallets that connect include Sparrow, BlueWallet, Nunchuk, Electrum, Wasabi, BTCPay Server, ZEUS and Unisat. On the altcoin side you get MetaMask, including MetaMask Mobile, plus OKX Wallet, Rabby, Safe, imToken, Feather and Zashi. Keystone says it is the only hardware wallet that supports MetaMask Mobile.

Seeds follow BIP39 with 12, 18 or 24 words. You can also use SLIP39 Shamir backup, which splits the seed into several shares, a passphrase as a 25th word, and dice rolls for extra entropy. One device holds three independent wallets, and you can import a seed from another BIP39 wallet. The older generation docs mention one wallet only, which refers to different hardware.

Who is Keystone 3 Pro for, and who should skip it?

Keystone 3 Pro fits you if you:

  • want signing by QR code with no cable and no Bluetooth;
  • run Bitcoin multisig in Sparrow or Nunchuk, or want a Bitcoin-Only firmware;
  • use MetaMask on a phone and want a hardware signer for it;
  • want separate wallets on one device, or a Shamir backup.

Compare first if you:

  • want the device to sit in a drawer for months and turn on charged, since standby is stated at 1-2 days;
  • need a fully open source stack, as the vendor library is closed;
  • care about an audit finding that has no public fix confirmation;
  • live in Russia or the CIS, where delivery is not confirmed.

If you mine and move payouts into cold storage, check what your setup earns in our mining calculator first. A miner with small monthly payouts may not need a USD 149 wallet, while someone sweeping larger amounts will care more about multisig.

Which countries can buy Keystone 3 Pro?

The shipping regions page promises worldwide delivery to all countries, but if your country does not appear at checkout, it is not served. Free shipping covers the USA, Australia and Europe except Switzerland and Norway. Russia and the CIS are not confirmed. Amazon stores in seven countries are an alternative.

Countries listed include the USA, Canada, Australia, Europe, China, Hong Kong, Indonesia with USD 49 shipping, Israel and Nigeria with USD 15 shipping, and Argentina. Brazil, Mexico and Chile require a Tax ID for customs. We could not confirm delivery to Russia or other CIS countries, so check the checkout or write to support@keyst.one. Amazon sells the device in Canada, Germany, Spain, France, Italy, the UK and the USA.

Orders leave within three working days and arrive 1-2 weeks after dispatch, according to a shipping policy last updated on 2023-10-15. Returns are accepted for 15 days from receipt, only for unopened and uninitialized devices, and the buyer pays shipping. A device you have already set up will be refused. Support runs through support@keyst.one and the helpdesk at keystonewallet.crisp.help, with docs at support.keyst.one and guide.keyst.one.

A wallet next to a notebook for the backup
Three secure elements, but the 2026 USB flaw makes a current firmware essential

How do you set up Keystone 3 Pro?

These steps follow the official Keystone docs.

  1. Charge the device. If it does not respond, leave it on the charger for at least one hour.
  2. Power it on and create a passcode.
  3. Create a new wallet or import an existing seed.
  4. Write the 24-word phrase on the seed sheets from the box. Do not photograph it.
  5. Optionally add a fingerprint.
  6. Optionally set a passphrase or use Shamir backup.
  7. Run Device Verification by scanning the QR code.
  8. In the menu choose Connect Software Wallet and scan the QR code with your software wallet.
  9. Update the firmware through WebUSB or a microSD card formatted as FAT32, and compare the published checksum.

Send a small test amount before you move larger sums. If you used Shamir or a passphrase, rehearse a recovery while the amount is still small.

What are the risks of using Keystone 3 Pro?

  • Open audit finding. The 2023 Keylabs High issue on tamper logging has no public patch confirmation.
  • Closed vendor library. The processor SDK is precompiled, and the 2026 USB bug was found in that SDK.
  • Old firmware over USB. Devices below v2.4.0 that use USB are exposed to the OneKey finding. Update or stay in Air-Gap Mode.
  • Short standby. The battery is stated at 1-2 days in standby, so expect to charge it before use.
  • Strict returns. After initialization the device cannot be returned, and the warranty is now one year.
  • Delivery gaps. Russia and the CIS are not confirmed, and some Latin American countries need a Tax ID.
  • Pricing conflict. Care+ prices differ between the product page and the terms page.

How does Keystone 3 Pro compare with Coldcard, Trezor and Ledger?

WalletPriceCoinsConnectionNotable
Keystone 3 ProUSD 1495,500+QR code, microSD, optional USB3 secure elements, 4-inch touchscreen
Coldcard MK4about USD 148-158BTC onlymicroSD, NFCFull open source stack, duress PIN
Trezor Safe 5USD 1699,000+USB requiredColor touchscreen, SLIP-39
Ledger Nano XUSD 1495,500+Bluetooth, USBMono OLED, apps open, OS closed

Coldcard MK4 is the stronger pick for Bitcoin-only multisig and has a fully open stack. Trezor Safe 5 supports the most coins but needs USB. Ledger Nano X uses Bluetooth and had a customer data leak in 2020 that exposed 1 million emails and 272,000 physical addresses, according to the comparison site we used. On chips, Keystone has three secure elements, Coldcard two and Trezor one. Competitor prices come from third-party comparison sites on 2026-10-11. See also our reviews of Trezor and SafePal.

FAQ

Is Keystone Pro the same as Keystone 3 Pro?

No. Keystone Pro was the older generation, listed at USD 169 in the support docs. Keystone 3 Pro is the current model at USD 149, with three secure elements and a 4-inch touchscreen.

Is Keystone 3 Pro fully open source?

Mostly. The firmware, hardware schematic and SDKs are public, but the processor vendor library is precompiled and closed, and GitHub lists the license as Other.

Was Keystone 3 Pro hacked in 2026?

No evidence of active exploitation was found. OneKey researchers reported a USB bug that needed physical access, the PIN, an unlocked device and user approval. It was fixed in firmware v2.4.0 on 2026-04-01.

Does Keystone 3 Pro have Bluetooth?

Bluetooth and NFC are not stated on the official site. It signs through QR codes or microSD, and USB can be disabled in Air-Gap Mode.

Can I use Keystone 3 Pro for Bitcoin only?

Yes. Install the Bitcoin-Only firmware, current version v3.1.0, and pair it with Sparrow, Nunchuk, BlueWallet or Electrum. Taproot and PSBT multisig are supported.

Can I buy Keystone 3 Pro in Russia?

Delivery to Russia and the CIS is not confirmed on the official site, checked 2026-10-11. Check the checkout or ask support@keyst.one.

Is Keystone 3 Pro worth it in 2026?

For an air-gapped wallet with three secure elements, a large screen and wide wallet support, Keystone 3 Pro is a sensible choice at USD 149, as long as you keep firmware current or stay in QR mode. If you hold only Bitcoin and want a fully open stack, compare Coldcard MK4 first.

If it fits you, order from Keystone, run Device Verification on first start and send a small test amount before you move your savings.

This article contains a referral link: we may receive a reward if you register through it. It does not change the figures or conclusions.