Trezor hardware wallet review 2026: Safe 3, Safe 5, Safe 7, prices, shipping, who it fits
Trezor makes sense for people who want open-source firmware, a certified secure element and a simple start, and who live in a country the official shop ships to. The Safe 3 at 59 euros covers Bitcoin storage for most users. Russia and Belarus cannot order from the official shop, and two customer data leaks raise the phishing risk.
POOL BTC is an independent comparison site, not Trezor and not a mining pool, and nothing here is financial or investment advice. The facts below come from the official trezor.io pages, the Trezor blog and the shop terms, checked on 2026-10-08. Shop prices change, so confirm them on the official shop before you pay.
What is a Trezor hardware wallet?
A Trezor is a small offline device made by Satoshi Labs in Prague that keeps your private keys and signs transactions on the device. You manage coins in the free Trezor Suite app. All three current models have a certified EAL6+ secure element, and Trezor says its code is public so anyone can review it.
The official pages talk about "1000s of supported coins and tokens" without giving an exact total. The coins page itself lists about 60 items. Bitcoin works on every model: send, receive, buy, sell and swap. Which Bitcoin address types are supported, and whether Lightning is supported, is not stated on the official coin page (checked 2026-10-08). Staking in Suite is offered for Ethereum, Cardano and Solana.
On open source, one detail matters. Trezor describes its security as open source, but the official pages do not say whether the secure element firmware is open. We read the claim as covering Trezor's own firmware and software, not the chip vendor's code.
Older reviews, including earlier data on our own site, still list the Model T and Model One. Both are no longer sold. Trezor promises support for them through at least 2031 and critical security fixes until 2036. The Model One has no secure element at all.
Which Trezor models exist and what do they cost?
The current lineup has three devices: Safe 3 at 59 euros or 59 dollars, Safe 5 at 129 euros or 129 dollars, and Safe 7 at 249 euros, 249 dollars or 209 pounds. Bitcoin-only versions of all three exist, but we did not check their prices. Prices are from the official shop as of 2026-10-08.
| Model | Price | Screen and input | Secure element | Connection | Extras |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Safe 3 | EUR 59 / USD 59 | 0.96 inch OLED, 2 buttons | EAL6+ | USB-C | 2 backup cards, multi-share backup, FIDO2 listed |
| Safe 5 | EUR 129 / USD 129 | 1.54 inch color touchscreen with haptics | EAL6+ | USB-C | microSD slot, multi-share backup, no Bluetooth stated |
| Safe 7 | EUR 249 / USD 249 / GBP 209 | 2.5 inch touchscreen | Dual: TROPIC01 plus Optiga EAL6+ | Bluetooth 5.0+, wireless | Qi2 charging, IP54, post-quantum crypto for updates and boot |
| Model T, Model One | Not sold | Model One: none | Support through at least 2031 |
The Safe 7 is the only Trezor with Bluetooth. Its TROPIC01 chip is a secure element that Trezor calls auditable, paired with a second certified chip. Trezor also says the Safe 7 is the first hardware wallet to use post-quantum cryptography for firmware updates, authentication and boot. That is the company's own claim.
For a first Bitcoin wallet the Safe 3 is enough. The Safe 5 adds a larger color touchscreen, which makes checking addresses easier. The Safe 7 is for people who want to sign from a phone over Bluetooth and care about the dual-chip design.
What does Trezor Suite offer?
Trezor Suite is the companion app for desktop and mobile. It lists Tor routing, coin control and passphrase support, built-in buy and swap with a comparison of providers, and backups of 12, 20 or 24 words. Bluetooth in Suite works only with the Safe 7, through the encrypted Trezor Host Protocol.
Multi-share backup, also known as Shamir backup, splits the recovery into several shares so that losing one does not lose the wallet. It is listed on the Safe 3 and Safe 5 pages. For Bitcoin users, Tor and coin control are the most useful parts: they reduce how much your addresses and IP are linked together. If you mine and want to know what a payout is worth before moving it to cold storage, our calculator gives the current value.
Who is Trezor for, and who should skip it?
Trezor fits Bitcoin holders who value open-source software, want a secure element and need an easy app with Tor and coin control. It fits less well if you need to buy from Russia, Belarus or possibly Kazakhstan, or want Bluetooth on a small budget, since only the 249 euro Safe 7 has it.
Good fit:
- First-time self-custody users who want a 59 euro device with a secure element.
- Bitcoin holders who prefer public code and a Bitcoin-only firmware option.
- People who want a split backup across several shares.
- Phone users willing to pay for the Safe 7 to sign over Bluetooth.
Poor fit:
- Buyers in countries the official shop does not ship to.
- Anyone who wants an exact list of every supported coin before buying: Trezor does not publish a total.
- People who want no device at all and prefer a card: our Tangem review covers that option.
Does Trezor ship to Russia, Belarus, Kazakhstan and Latin America?
Trezor says it ships to more than 200 countries and territories. The rule is simple: if your country is in the shop drop-down, the shop ships there, and if it is not, you cannot order from the official shop. Belarus is listed as not shippable. Russia is not orderable on the official shop.
Details by region:
- Belarus: not shippable. Trezor explains that local certification needs a local importing company.
- Russia: we could not read a Russia option on the official shop. The press, including Forklog, reported that Satoshi Labs halted shipments to Russia, and a search summary said there is no official reseller. Treat this as press-confirmed, not as an official statement.
- Kazakhstan: reportedly not shippable. We could not confirm this on the official shop.
- Latin America: the Safe 7 page lists shipping to Argentina, Colombia, Venezuela, Peru and Panama, and not to Bolivia, Chile, Paraguay or Suriname.
Delivery times stated by Trezor: 2-3 business days in the UK, 2-5 in the US, 1-9 in the EU depending on the carrier, and up to 13 business days elsewhere. Orders go to the carrier in about one day. Times are not guaranteed, and customs fees outside the EU are paid by the buyer.
US orders ship from Las Vegas, Pittston and Louisville, UK orders from Coalville, and Swedish, Italian, Portuguese and Colombian orders from Cheb in Czechia, all through ShipMonk. The rest of the world ships from Mosnov in Czechia through Skladon. If the shop does not ship to you, a reseller you cannot verify is a real risk, because a tampered device is the main supply chain danger.
How do you pay, return and claim warranty?
The shop accepts cards, Google Pay and Apple Pay. Crypto goes through Confirmo: BTC on-chain or over Lightning, ETH, USDC on Ethereum, LTC and SOL, with a 15-minute payment window. Trezor advises against paying directly from an exchange account.
Returns are accepted within 15 days of delivery if the product is unused, sealed and in its original package. Refunds usually arrive 3-5 business days after inspection. The warranty runs 2 years for individuals and 1 year for businesses, counted from delivery. The shop terms were last updated on 16 June 2026.
You can order directly through the Trezor shop via our referral link. The payment goes to the official shop, and the price is the same.
Is Trezor secure, and what leaked in 2025 and 2026?
The devices themselves were not reported as breached in either incident. Both leaks involved customer contact data held by third parties: a support ticket portal in January 2025 and the ShipMonk warehouse in 2026. Trezor says wallets, private keys and backups were not affected, but leaked names and addresses fuel phishing.
January 2025, support portal. A third-party ticket portal was accessed on 17 January. Up to 66,000 customers who had contacted support since December 2021 had names and emails exposed. Attackers then contacted 41 customers asking about their recovery phrase. Trezor says assets were not affected. BleepingComputer and Cointelegraph covered it. One headline mentions 81,000, which may be a later update; we could not verify that figure, so the sources disagree.
August and September 2026, ShipMonk. ShipMonk told Trezor on 10 August 2026, and Trezor announced it on 13 August. For 11,742 customers, name, email, phone and address were exposed, and for 1,947 more, name, city and email. These were orders from the US, UK, Sweden, Colombia, Brazil, Italy and Portugal between 10 May and 8 August 2026. A 2-4 September update added about 67,000 US customers with orders from November 2019 to August 2021, data that ShipMonk was expected to have deleted. The official total is 80,689.
Trezor says its systems, hardware wallets, private keys and wallet backups were not affected. It plans an "Anonymous Delivery" option for the EU by September 2026 and for the US by the end of 2026. We could not confirm that it has launched.
Trezor runs a bug bounty paying in US dollars: Low 0-2,000, Medium 250-5,000, High 500-10,000 and Critical 10,000-100,000, with no cap for exceptional cases. We did not check reports of physical attacks or supply chain tampering, so we make no claim either way about them.
How do you start with a Trezor safely?
The official step-by-step setup list was not captured for this review. The basics below are from Trezor's pages: buy from the official shop or an authorized reseller, check the seal, install Trezor Suite, set up the device, write down the backup and set a PIN. Trezor says it never asks for your recovery phrase.
- Buy at trezor.io or from an authorized reseller.
- Check that the package is sealed.
- Install Trezor Suite.
- Connect and set up the device in Suite.
- Write down the 12, 20 or 24 word backup by hand, or use multi-share backup on the Safe 3 or Safe 5.
- Set a PIN.
Anyone who emails, calls or messages you asking for the recovery phrase is not Trezor. After the two leaks, that rule matters more than any device feature.
What are the risks of using Trezor?
The main risks are around the device rather than in it: phishing after data leaks, delivery limits and import costs.
- Two customer data leaks, so expect fake emails, SMS and letters that look like Trezor.
- No shipping to Belarus, none to Russia according to press reports, and probably none to Kazakhstan (unconfirmed).
- Customs fees outside the EU on top of the device price.
- The old Model One has no secure element. If you buy one second-hand, you get weaker physical protection and an unknown history.
- Bluetooth is only on the Safe 7, so phone signing on a budget is not an option.
- Losing both the device and the backup means the funds are gone for good.
The shop shows its own ratings, 4.8 out of 5 from 56 reviews for the Safe 5 and 4.5 out of 5 from 73 reviews for the Safe 3. These are self-reported on the shop, not independent scores.
How does Trezor compare with Ledger, Tangem and BitBox02?
Trezor and BitBox02 lead on open firmware, Ledger offers wider device choice and Bluetooth options, and Tangem is a card with no screen or battery. Prices for the alternatives are as quoted in our earlier checks and search summaries, so confirm them on the official shops.
| Trezor Safe 3 | Ledger Nano S Plus | Tangem 2-card set | BitBox02 | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Price | EUR 59 / USD 59 | From USD 59, some editions 69 | USD 54.90, 3 cards USD 69.90 | EUR 149, Nova EUR 175 |
| Secure element | EAL6+ | EAL6+ (Nano X EAL5+) | EAL6+ chip | Dual-chip design |
| Open source | Trezor firmware and software | Not confirmed | App on GitHub | Open-source firmware |
| Connection | USB-C | USB only on Nano S Plus | NFC, no battery or cable | USB-C, microSD |
| Coins | "1000s" per Trezor | 500+ in Ledger Wallet plus third-party | 14,100+ tokens, 90+ chains | Multi and Bitcoin-only editions |
| Bitcoin-only option | Yes | No | No | Yes |
Ledger's lineup goes up to the Nano Gen5 at 179 dollars and the Flex at 249 dollars excluding VAT, as quoted. Its details, including its own past incidents, are in our Ledger review. We did not check Coldcard for this review. For an overview of all wallet types, see our wallets page.
FAQ
Is Trezor safe for Bitcoin?
Yes for most users who buy from official sources and protect the backup. The leaks in 2025 and 2026 exposed customer contact data, not keys or devices, according to Trezor. The real threat they create is phishing, so never share your recovery phrase.
Which Trezor should I buy first?
The Safe 3 at 59 euros is enough for Bitcoin storage and includes a secure element and two backup cards. Choose the Safe 5 for a color touchscreen and the Safe 7 if you need Bluetooth.
Are Trezor Model T and Model One still sold?
No. Both are discontinued. Trezor promises support through at least 2031 and critical security fixes until 2036. The Model One has no secure element.
Can I buy Trezor in Russia or Belarus?
Not from the official shop. Belarus is listed as not shippable because of local certification rules. For Russia, the press reported that Satoshi Labs stopped shipments. Kazakhstan is reportedly not served either, but we could not confirm it.
Is Trezor open source?
Trezor says its code is public and anyone can review it. The official pages do not say whether the secure element firmware is open, so read the claim as covering Trezor's own firmware and software.
Does Trezor support Lightning?
The official coin page does not state Lightning support or the list of Bitcoin address types (checked 2026-10-08). The shop does accept Lightning payments for orders through Confirmo.
This article contains a referral link: we may receive a reward if you register through it. It does not change the figures or conclusions.



