EMCD Card review 2026: fees, tiers, countries, limits, who it fits
The EMCD Card, now sold under the Coinhold brand, can work for a verified Coinhold wallet user who wants a virtual USD card for online purchases and lives outside the restricted lists. It is a poor fit for Russian residents, for anyone who needs an ATM or pays for fuel and taxis, and for anyone who wants self-custody.
POOL BTC is an independent comparison site for bitcoin mining pools and the services miners use. We are not EMCD or Coinhold, we do not issue cards, and nothing here is investment advice. The figures come from the official Coinhold card page, help articles, Terms of Service and KYC/AML policy, checked on 2026-10-18. The old emcd.io/payment-card/ address now redirects to coinhold.io.
What has changed since our cards table listed it?
A lot. Our cards table described one USDT Mastercard with 0% FX, a 2.5% top-up fee and $0.25 per transaction, virtual only, with Apple Pay and Google Pay, RF-friendly KYC, Plus at $19 and Premium at $25. Today there are three lines with different fees, and only the Plus and Premium prices still match.
- The 2.5% top-up and $0.25 per purchase apply only to Light, closed to new users since July 2026.
- 0% FX no longer holds: Plus, Premium and Light say a 3% conversion fee may apply to non-USD purchases.
- Apple Pay and Google Pay work on Plus and Premium. For Active the landing page FAQ says "coming soon" and its own plan block reads differently.
- We could not confirm RF-friendly KYC, so we no longer claim it.
What is the EMCD Card?
The EMCD Card is a virtual payment card funded with USDT from the custodial Coinhold wallet, formerly the EMCD wallet. The card account is in US dollars. It comes in three lines: Active, Plus/Premium and the closed Light. No tier offers ATM access, and a physical card is "not yet" available, with no date given.
Top-up is an internal USDT transfer from the wallet; supported blockchains are not stated on the official card pages (checked 2026-10-18). Issuance takes about 3-5 minutes.
The official pages disagree on the network and issuer. The Active landing page calls the card a virtual Visa Platinum and names no issuer. The Plus/Premium help article and the Terms describe a Mastercard, and section 6.1 of the Terms says the card "is issued by METABANK INC ... operating under the KazePay brand". In a conflict, KazePay's terms prevail. We cannot tell whether Active runs on another network or the landing page is out of date.
How much does the EMCD Card cost on each tier?
Active has no issue fee, charges 0% on top-ups and regular purchases, and costs from 5.99 USDT a month. Plus costs $19 to issue and Premium $25, each with $5 monthly maintenance, 1.5% per top-up and 1.5% plus $0.50 per purchase. Light charged 2.5% per top-up and $0.25 per purchase, but is closed to new users.
| Item | Active | Plus | Premium | Light (closed) |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Issue fee | $0 | $19 | $25 | No new cards |
| Monthly fee | From 5.99 USDT | $5 | $5 | None |
| Top-up fee | 0% | 1.5% | 1.5% | 2.5% |
| Purchase fee | 0%, quasi-cash 2% | 1.5% + $0.50 | 1.5% + $0.50 | $0.25, even if declined |
| Non-USD purchases | Visa rate, no markup stated | 3% may apply | 3% may apply | 3% may apply |
| Minimum top-up | $1, $15 to order | $20 first | $20 first | Not stated |
| Max per purchase | $30,000 | $1,000 | $10,000 | Not stated |
| Daily limit | Not stated | $3,000 | $50,000 | Not stated |
| Monthly limit | Unlimited | $10,000 | $400,000 | Top-ups $2,000 |
| Validity | 3 years | 2 years | 2 years | 2 years |
Active also comes in plans of 17.43 USDT for 3 months, 34.14 for 6 and 64.69 for 12. The $15 top-up needed to order stays in your balance. If the subscription goes unpaid after a grace month, the card is frozen, not closed, and the money stays yours.
Plus and Premium add $1.50 per declined transaction, $0.50 per refund, $2.00 per reversal, $35 per chargeback and $15 to close the card, free once total spending reaches $2,500. Of the $20 first top-up, $15 is held as a reserve until you have spent $2,500.
On Plus, loading $100 and spending it in one purchase costs about $1.50 plus $2.00, so $3.50 before the monthly fee, by our arithmetic. On Active the same USD purchase costs nothing beyond the subscription. Cashback is not stated on the official pages.
What can't you pay for with the card?
Plus and Premium block fuel, taxi, AI subscriptions, money transfers, crypto exchanges, gambling, brokerage, ATM, dating and other categories. Three declines in a row may lead to suspension, freeze or closure. Plus, Premium and Light do not support 3D Secure, so merchants that require it decline the card. Active blocks ATM, card-to-card and P2P.
Whether Active supports 3D Secure is not stated on the official site (checked 2026-10-18). On Plus, Premium and Light the bank may close the card if the balance is $20 or less or there are no transactions for more than 30 days in a row. There is no inactivity fee, just the risk of losing the card. No such rule is stated for Active.
Who is the EMCD Card for, and who should skip it?
It suits someone who already keeps USDT in the Coinhold wallet, passes KYC, lives outside both restricted lists and spends mostly online in US dollars. Active makes sense for people who spend often enough to cover a subscription. It does not suit Russian residents, people who need cash or 3D Secure, or anyone with a small, rarely used balance.
The card fits you if you:
- already hold USDT in the wallet, for example from EMCD pool payouts;
- pay mostly in USD online, where Active charges 0%;
- spend enough that 5.99 USDT or $5 a month is a small share.
Look elsewhere if you:
- live in Russia or another country on the payments exclusion list;
- need an ATM, a physical card, fuel and taxi payments or 3D Secure;
- use the card rarely, since the monthly fee and the 30-day closure rule work against you.
Before weighing card fees against your payouts, check what your hardware earns in the mining calculator.
Is the EMCD Card available in your country?
Two lists matter. The KYC/AML policy restricts the service in the EU/EEA, the USA and several other places. Separately, the Plus, Premium and Light help articles say card payments are not available in 13 countries, Russia among them. The site does not say whether that means merchants there or residents, and neither list names Argentina.
The service list, in section 7.6 of the KYC/AML policy updated 2026-08-18, covers the EU/EEA, the USA and its territories, Iran, Myanmar, North Korea, Kenya, Bangladesh, Uzbekistan, Abkhazia, the DPR and LPR, the Zaporizhzhia and Kherson regions, and Crimea.
The payments exclusion list covers Afghanistan, Belarus, Cuba, Iran, North Korea, Syria, Venezuela, Russia, Myanmar, Somalia, Ukraine, Yemen and China. The same help article reports successful payments in Indonesia, Thailand, Japan, Turkey, the UAE, Germany, the UK, the US and Mexico.
Russia. Russia is on the payments exclusion list, so we do not promise the card works for Russian residents. One Trustpilot user wrote in March 2026 that a Russian passport failed verification and led to a permanent ban; EMCD replied that restrictions follow compliance reviews. That is one anecdote. An affiliate-style blog with June 2026 data also lists Russia as restricted for card use.
CIS. Belarus and Ukraine are on the payments list, and Uzbekistan is on the service list. Other CIS countries are not named, which is not confirmed support.
Latin America and Argentina. Venezuela and Cuba are on the payments list. For Argentina and the rest of the region, support is not stated on the official site (checked 2026-10-18).
KYC is mandatory: a government photo ID, possibly proof of address, a selfie and a liveness check. The help center says it takes about 5 minutes.
How safe is your money in the Coinhold wallet?
The wallet is custodial. EMCD holds the private keys and keeps user funds pooled with an internal ledger, and the Terms say they are not bank deposits. The operator, EMCD FINTECH CORP., is in Panama, under Panama law. EMCD may freeze or close accounts without giving reasons.
The app is published by EMCD Tech Limited in Hong Kong. A suspended card stops working at once, and reinstatement is at KazePay's sole discretion. On closure, the balance is converted to USDT at the bank rate and returned to the wallet. An account unused for 12 months or more may be deleted after three warnings. Deposits to a wrong address are lost below 100 USDT and cost 100 USDT to recover above that.
Trustpilot lists 190 reviews, 83% five-star and 11% one-star. Complaints include blocked accounts, which EMCD put down to KYC/AML violations, bonus abuse or US restrictions in force since 2025-05-01, and slow KYC. We found no news of mass freezes or a card hack, and no visible reviews about the card itself.
How does the card relate to the EMCD mining pool?
EMCD also runs a mining pool, and pool payouts land in the EMCD wallet, now Coinhold. The official pages do not describe payouts going straight to the card. The route is pool, wallet, then a USDT top-up to the card at your tier's fee: free on Active, 1.5% on Plus and Premium.
Third-party promo claims about yield on Coinhold balances or pool fee discounts did not appear on the official pages we checked, so we do not repeat them. For the pool itself, see our EMCD pool review.
How do you get an EMCD Card?
The official steps:
- Create an account in the Coinhold wallet, which is your EMCD account.
- Complete KYC.
- Order a card: Active, Plus or Premium.
- Fund it with USDT from the wallet: $15 to order Active, at least $20 for Plus and Premium.
- Wait about 3-5 minutes. The virtual card appears in the app.
- On Plus and Premium, add it to Apple Wallet or Google Wallet.
What are the risks of the EMCD Card?
- Issuer conflict. Visa Platinum on the Active page, a MetaBank Mastercard under the KazePay brand in the Terms.
- Russia. It is on the payments exclusion list, and the scope of that list is not stated.
- Custody. A Panama entity holds the keys and may freeze accounts at its discretion.
- Closure and limits. Older tiers may be closed after 30 idle days or at $20 or less, and have no 3D Secure, ATM or many categories.
- Fees on small balances. 5.99 USDT or $5 a month eats into small amounts, and terms can change without notice.
How does the EMCD Card compare with PAY.SPACE, KAST and Bybit Card?
EMCD Active is the only one here with 0% top-ups, 0% purchases and a published monthly subscription. PAY.SPACE charges 3.5% or 4.5% per top-up with no maintenance fee. KAST has no top-up fee, pays cashback and allows ATM withdrawals. For Bybit Card we verified only the free virtual issue.
| Feature | EMCD Active / Plus | PAY.SPACE | KAST | Bybit Card |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Issue fee | $0 / $19 | 50 or 35 USDT | Not verified | Free virtual |
| Monthly fee | 5.99 USDT / $5 | $0 | Not verified | Not verified |
| Top-up fee | 0% / 1.5% | 4.5% / 3.5% | No fee | Not verified |
| FX fee | Visa rate / 3% may apply | Not stated | 0.5% to 1.75% | 0% or 2%, conflict |
| ATM | None | Not stated | $3 + 2% | Not verified |
| Cashback | Not stated | Not verified | 1.5%, 2%, 3% | Not verified |
| Russian residents | Russia excluded for payments | Not confirmed | Not verified | Not verified |
PAY.SPACE figures are for Global Pay and Service Plus, and it publishes no country list. KAST's pages give two ATM limits, $500 and $250. We could not verify CinCin's official fees, so we give no numbers for it. More on the exchange card in our Bybit Card review.
FAQ
Does the EMCD Card work in Russia?
We cannot promise it. Russia is on the card payments exclusion list, and the site does not say whether that covers merchants or residents.
Is the EMCD Card Visa or Mastercard?
The pages conflict. The Active landing page says Visa Platinum, while the Terms describe a MetaBank Mastercard under the KazePay brand.
How much does the EMCD Card cost?
Active: $0 issue, from 5.99 USDT a month, 0% on top-ups and purchases. Plus $19 and Premium $25, then $5 a month, 1.5% per top-up and 1.5% plus $0.50 per purchase.
Can I withdraw cash with it?
No. No tier supports ATM withdrawals, and a physical card is not yet available.
Can EMCD pool payouts go straight to the card?
That is not stated on the official pages. Payouts go to the Coinhold wallet, and you top up the card from there.
Is the EMCD Card available in Argentina?
Not stated on the official site (checked 2026-10-18). Argentina is not on either restriction list.
Is the EMCD Card worth it in 2026?
For a verified Coinhold user outside both restricted lists who spends in USD online, Active is a fair deal: 0% top-ups and purchases for a subscription from 5.99 USDT a month. Plus and Premium cost more per purchase and come with closure and category rules. Russian residents should not count on the card, and the issuer conflict and custody risk remain.
If it fits, open an EMCD account through our referral link, pass KYC and compare the fees in the app with the table above before your first top-up.
This article contains a referral link: we may receive a reward if you register through it. It does not change the figures or conclusions.
This article contains referral links to mining pools (marked as sponsored). We may receive a reward if you register through them. This does not change the figures or the order of rows in the tables: the terms are taken from the pools' official pages.



