CoolWallet Pro review 2026: price, security, coins, countries, who it fits

CoolWallet Pro is worth a look if you want a thin, card-sized hardware wallet that runs from your phone over Bluetooth and covers 35+ blockchains. At $149 it costs about the same as a Ledger Nano X. Skip it if you need a desktop app, firmware you can verify yourself, or confirmed Native SegWit (bc1q) support for Bitcoin.

POOL BTC is an independent comparison site for bitcoin mining pools and the services miners use. We are not CoolBitX, we do not sell wallets, and nothing here is investment advice. Facts come from the official coolwallet.io pages checked on 2026-10-15, unless another source and date are named in the text.

What is CoolWallet Pro?

CoolWallet Pro is a hardware wallet the size of a bank card, made by CoolBitX Technology Ltd in Taiwan. Private keys stay on a secure element inside the card. You operate it through a phone app over encrypted Bluetooth and approve each transaction on a small e-paper screen with a physical button. There is no USB data connection at all.

CoolBitX was founded in 2014 and is run by CEO Michael Ou. Its backers include SBI Holdings, which put in $13M in May 2018, and the company raised a $16.75M Series B in February 2020.

The card measures 85.6 x 53.98 x 0.8 mm and weighs 6 g, so it fits in the card slot of an ordinary wallet. Inside is a 15 mAh Li-ion battery. It charges through contacts in about 2 hours, and the official site says a charge lasts about 2 weeks at 2 transactions a day, or about 3 months on standby. Bluetooth traffic is encrypted with AES-256 and the range is up to 10 m.

Coin coverage is wide. CoolBitX lists 35+ blockchains, among them Bitcoin, Ethereum, BNB Chain, Polygon, Solana, Kaspa, Toncoin, Dogecoin, Cardano, Tron, XRP Ledger and Litecoin. You can add custom EVM networks, and the wallet handles ERC-20, BEP-20, TRC-20, SPL and Jetton tokens, NFTs and 12,000+ tokens in total.

Bitcoin needs a closer look. The official docs, dated 2024-12-13, list three address types: Custom Segwit (starts with 3), Nested Segwit (starts with 3) and Taproot (bc1p). Native SegWit, the bc1q format, is not mentioned in that document. We cannot tell whether the doc is just incomplete or the format is missing, so check it in the app before you rely on it.

The app runs on iOS 15.6+ (iPhone 6S and newer) and Android 7.0+. There is no official desktop app. WalletConnect is supported, which lets you connect to dapps. The open SDK on GitHub includes a Web BLE transport, but CoolBitX offers no official web app.

How much does CoolWallet Pro cost?

CoolWallet Pro costs $149.00 on the official store and comes with a 1-year warranty. The box holds the wallet, a charging kit, a manual and two seed cards. International delivery takes 7-10 business days after dispatch, and the buyer pays duties and taxes. A EUR price and a shipping country list are not published.

ItemCoolWallet Pro
Price$149.00
EUR priceNot stated
In the boxWallet, charging kit, manual, 2 seed cards
Warranty1 year (CoolWallet Go has 2 years)
International delivery7-10 business days after dispatch
Duties and taxesPaid by the buyer
Shipping countriesNot published, shown at checkout
Card BackupNot available on Pro, only on CoolWallet Go
Fees for in-app buy, swap, stakingSet by third-party providers, not stated

"Not stated" means the official site gives no figure (checked 2026-10-15). The in-app services are run by outside companies, so their fees appear inside each provider's flow, not on the CoolWallet product page.

Note the gap inside the same brand. The cheaper CoolWallet Go gets 2 years of warranty and a Card Backup option. The Pro gets 1 year and backup by hand only.

Who is CoolWallet Pro for, and who should skip it?

CoolWallet Pro suits people who manage crypto from a phone, hold coins on several chains and want a wallet that slips into a card slot. It suits poorly anyone who works from a desktop, wants firmware they can rebuild and check, or needs a confirmed bc1q address for Bitcoin.

It fits you if you:

  • do everything on an iPhone or Android phone and never plug a wallet into a computer;
  • hold Bitcoin next to Solana, Toncoin, Kaspa or EVM tokens;
  • want staking or swaps from the same app, and accept that a third party runs them.

Look elsewhere if you:

  • want a desktop app such as Ledger Live or Trezor Suite;
  • care about independently verifiable firmware;
  • need Native SegWit (bc1q) receiving addresses confirmed in the docs;
  • would rather avoid Bluetooth completely.

Many miners send pool payouts straight to cold storage. Before you point a pool at a CoolWallet address, check that the pool accepts the address type the wallet gives you, then send a small test payout. It also helps to know how much your hardware earns, so you can decide how often to withdraw: run your numbers in the mining calculator.

Is CoolWallet Pro available in Russia, the CIS and Argentina?

CoolBitX does not publish a list of countries it ships to; you see whether delivery works at checkout. It does list official resellers: 3 in Russia, including World of Mining and Sunscrypt, 1 in Argentina (CashCoin, cashcoin.com.ar) and 4 in Brazil. Direct shipping from Taiwan to Russia is neither confirmed nor ruled out on the site.

For Russia, a local reseller is the clearer route, since the official store gives no direct answer. For Kazakhstan and the rest of the CIS, the official site does not name resellers or confirm shipping (checked 2026-10-15). The 7-10 business day delivery estimate starts after dispatch, and customs duties fall on you.

In Latin America, buyers in Argentina can go through CashCoin, and Brazil has four listed resellers. Other countries in the region do not appear in the reseller list we checked.

The wallet is one thing, the in-app services are another. Buying crypto runs through Banxa, MoonPay and Simplex, and swaps through Changelly, ChangeHero, 1inch, XY Finance, Unizen and n.exchange. These are third parties with KYC, and the official site does not say which of them work in which country. Check each provider's own terms for your country before you count on it.

How secure is CoolWallet Pro?

Keys live on a secure element that the official site calls "CC EAL 6+ certified", and every transaction must be confirmed with the button on the card. That is a sound design on paper. The weak spot is transparency: CoolBitX does not publish the chip model, the certificate ID or the testing lab, and the firmware cannot be independently verified.

A thin card-format hardware wallet held above a table with a phone
A thin card-format hardware wallet held above a table with a phone

The other marks on the product page are CE, RoHS and a Taiwan NCC certificate. The NCC certificate covers wireless equipment. It says nothing about security.

WalletScrutiny reviewed the wallet on 2024-12-08 and rated it "not verifiable", meaning nobody outside the company can check that the firmware on the device matches the published code. It describes the chip as an ARM-based secure element using Java Card technology.

Open source is partial. CoolBitX has published the secure element firmware on GitHub since July 2023, according to its blog post of 2024-07-08, but you cannot build it yourself and flash it without official authorization. The SDK is open and written in JavaScript. The card's operating system is closed. Firmware updates arrive only through the official app.

The public record is clean for the Pro specifically, though not for the brand:

  • In January 2020 Kraken Security Labs found an Android app issue that let someone with physical access or malware extract the seed or PIN from logs or memory. It was fixed and affected CoolWallet S, not Pro.
  • In May 2024 a Bluetooth "seed replay" issue was disclosed. It needed an attacker within 30 m holding a second, prepared CoolWallet, and a victim on an outdated app. App 2.9.1 and firmware 106 fixed it. Again it hit CoolWallet S, not Pro.
  • A bug bounty program is active, and we found no public CVE for the Pro as of 2026-10-15.

Backup is a standard BIP39 seed of 12, 18 or 24 words. You can generate it on the card, where the e-paper screen shows the words as numbers, or in the app. On the Pro you write the seed by hand on the included seed cards; the Card Backup feature exists only on CoolWallet Go. You can also import a BIP39 phrase from another wallet, but a phrase that has lived in a software wallet keeps that exposure, so a fresh seed is the safer choice for long-term storage.

Passphrase support is listed as a topic in the help center. The product page does not mention it, and we could not verify the article, so confirm it works on your device before you rely on it.

The app also scans transactions for phishing through Blockaid, under a partnership announced on 2025-03-07. The button on the card is still your last check.

How do you set up CoolWallet Pro?

Setup happens entirely on your phone. You install the official app, pair the card over Bluetooth, create a BIP39 seed on the card or in the app and write it down on the seed cards from the box. After that, firmware updates come through the same app. The steps below use only what the official site describes.

  1. Buy the wallet from the official store on coolwallet.io or from an official reseller listed there.
  2. Charge the card with the included kit. A full charge takes about 2 hours.
  3. Install the official CoolWallet app on iOS 15.6+ (iPhone 6S or newer) or Android 7.0+.
  4. Pair the card with the phone over Bluetooth, keeping it within 10 m.
  5. Create a 12, 18 or 24-word seed on the card or in the app.
  6. Write the seed by hand on the included seed cards and store them offline. Pro has no Card Backup.
  7. Install any firmware update offered in the app. Updates come only through the official app.
  8. Check which Bitcoin address type you get, then send a small test amount before larger transfers.
The wallet and the phone talk over Bluetooth
The wallet and the phone talk over Bluetooth

Keep the app updated. The 2024 Bluetooth issue on the older CoolWallet S depended on an outdated app, and the fix shipped through updates.

What are the risks of CoolWallet Pro?

  • Unverifiable firmware. WalletScrutiny rates it "not verifiable", and you cannot rebuild and flash the published firmware yourself.
  • Unnamed chip. "CC EAL 6+" is stated without a chip model, certificate ID or lab.
  • bc1q unclear. Native SegWit is not listed in the official Bitcoin address docs.
  • Phone only. No desktop app, no web app and no USB data link. Every action needs a compatible phone with the app installed.
  • Bluetooth. Encrypted, with no known issue for the Pro, but the same brand had a Bluetooth flaw on the S model in 2024.
  • Manual backup only. The seed is on paper, and keeping it safe is entirely on you.
  • Third-party services. Buying, swapping and staking run through outside providers with KYC and their own fees.

How does CoolWallet Pro compare with Ledger Nano X, Trezor Safe 3 and Tangem?

Ledger Nano X costs about the same and adds USB-C and a desktop app. Trezor Safe 3 is much cheaper, fully open source and connects by cable only. Tangem is the closest in shape, also a card, sold as a 2-card set that works over NFC. CoolWallet Pro pairs the card shape with an e-paper screen and a confirm button.

FeatureCoolWallet ProLedger Nano XTrezor Safe 3Tangem
Price$149About $149$59 / 59 EUR$54.90 for 2 cards
Secure element"CC EAL 6+", chip not namedST33J2M0, CC EAL5+EAL6+Samsung S3D350A, EAL6+
ConnectionBluetooth onlyBluetooth and USB-CUSB-C onlyNFC only
Desktop appNoLedger LiveTrezor SuiteNo
Warranty1 year1 year2 years2 years

Prices and specs are from each maker's official page, checked 2026-10-15. If you want a desktop option and a named chip at the same price, read our Ledger review. If verifiable open source matters most, see the Trezor review.

FAQ

Does CoolWallet Pro support Native SegWit (bc1q) addresses?

The official docs from 2024-12-13 list Custom Segwit and Nested Segwit (both start with 3) and Taproot (bc1p). Native SegWit bc1q is not mentioned. Check in the app before giving a bc1q-only service your address.

Can I use CoolWallet Pro without a phone?

In practice, no. There is no official desktop app, no official web app and no USB data connection. The open SDK has a Web BLE transport, but that is a developer tool.

Has CoolWallet Pro been hacked?

We found no public CVE for the Pro as of 2026-10-15. The 2020 Android app issue and the 2024 Bluetooth seed replay issue affected CoolWallet S, and both were fixed.

Is CoolWallet Pro open source?

Partly. The secure element firmware is on GitHub and the SDK is open, but the card OS is closed and you cannot flash your own build. WalletScrutiny rates it "not verifiable".

Can I buy CoolWallet Pro in Russia or Argentina?

The site lists 3 official resellers in Russia, including World of Mining and Sunscrypt, and CashCoin in Argentina. Direct shipping from Taiwan to Russia is neither confirmed nor ruled out.

Does CoolWallet Pro support a passphrase?

The help center lists a "Passphrase support" topic, but the product page does not mention it. Confirm it on your device before relying on it.

Is CoolWallet Pro worth it in 2026?

If you run everything from a phone and hold coins on many chains, CoolWallet Pro is a well-made card wallet with a screen and no known public vulnerability for this model. The minuses are real: the firmware cannot be independently verified, the chip is not named, bc1q support is unclear and the warranty is only 1 year.

For Bitcoin-only cold storage of mining payouts, a cheaper open-source wired wallet may serve you better. If the card format and multi-chain support are what you want, buy it on the official CoolWallet Pro page, check the address type and start with a small transfer.

This article contains a referral link: we may receive a reward if you register through it. It does not change the figures or conclusions.