Kraken review 2026: fees, countries, proof of reserves, who it fits

Kraken suits people who want a long-running regulated exchange with free SEPA, ACH and Faster Payments deposits, published proof of reserves and strong account security. At small volumes its fees are high: the entry tier is 0.40% maker and 0.80% taker. It is closed to residents of Russia and Belarus.

POOL BTC is an independent comparison site for bitcoin mining pools and the services miners use, including exchanges where they sell coins. We are not Kraken, and nothing here is investment advice. The facts below come from Kraken's official pages, checked on 2026-10-16, plus the SEC and the press coverage named in the text.

What is Kraken?

Kraken is a crypto exchange run by Payward, with spot trading in hundreds of pairs, margin, futures through Kraken Pro, staking outside the US and a separate money app called Krak. It serves retail and business clients, publishes proof of reserves and announced a MiCA license from the Central Bank of Ireland in June 2025.

The exact number of trading pairs is not stated on the official site (checked 2026-10-16). There are two trading interfaces. The simple Kraken app lets you buy and sell in a few taps, and Kraken Pro adds advanced order types and charts. They are priced very differently, which is the first thing to understand about Kraken's fees.

Margin depends on your region, and the official margin page contradicts itself: the headline says up to 20x, the FAQ on the same page says up to 10x. Staking covers more than 20 assets outside the US. Krak, the separate app, has a debit card and payments in the EEA, the UK and the US, with a 1% convert fee plus a spread.

How much does Kraken charge?

On Kraken Pro, spot fees start at 0.40% maker and 0.80% taker and fall with 30-day volume, down to 0.00% maker and 0.05% taker at the top Pro tier. The simple buy and sell flow costs 1% plus a spread. Most bank deposits in USD, EUR and GBP are free.

30-day volume tierMakerTaker
Tier 1 (entry)0.40%0.80%
Tier 6 (over $100K)0.12%0.25%
Tier 9 (over $1M)0.06%0.18%
Tier 12 (over $10M)0.00%0.10%
Pro 1 (over $50M)0.00%0.09%
Pro 50.00%0.05%

There are 17 tiers in total. Your tier is the best of three measures: spot volume, futures volume or assets held on the platform, so a large balance can lower your fee even if you trade rarely.

One conflict to know about: our own exchange comparison table lists Kraken at 0.25% maker and 0.4% taker, while the official fee schedule now shows 0.40% and 0.80% at the entry level. The official schedule is what you will be charged.

Other costs are easy to miss. Instant and recurring buys cost 1%, instant custom orders 1.5%, and converting small balances below the minimum order size costs a flat 3%. Kraken+ members pay no trading fee on the first $10,000 a month in major currencies, but the spread and processing fees still apply.

Fiat funding per the official page:

CurrencyMethodFeeMinimum
USDACH (US only)Free$1, 7-day withdrawal hold
USDDebit card (US)$0.25 + 3.75%$10
USDSWIFT (Customers Bank)Free$100
EURSEPA, SEPA InstantFree1 EUR
GBPFaster PaymentsFreeNot stated
ARSBank transferFree10,000 ARS
BRLPIX0.3% IOF tax50 BRL
MXNSPEIFree150 MXN

FedWire, CAD e-Transfer, AUD bank transfer or PayID and CHF SIC are also free. Debit cards in EUR and GBP cost 0.25 plus 3.75%.

For miners selling coins, the BTC on-chain withdrawal fee matters. The official page could not be retrieved on 2026-10-16, and the fee is described as dynamic. Third parties cite about 0.0002 BTC, which we could not confirm. Kraken runs a Lightning node, but its Lightning fee is not confirmed in an official fee table. To see how fees cut into mining income, run your numbers in our mining calculator.

A smartphone with a crypto exchange app and a price chart in a sunny park
A smartphone with a crypto exchange app and a price chart in a sunny park

Who is Kraken a good fit for, and who should skip it?

Kraken fits miners and traders in the US, EU, UK and parts of Latin America who value free bank transfers, a regulated operator and published reserves. It fits small traders who use market orders less well, since the entry taker fee is 0.80%. It does not serve residents of Russia or Belarus at all.

A good fit:

  • Miners in Europe who sell BTC and want free SEPA transfers.
  • US users funding by ACH who can live with the 7-day withdrawal hold.
  • Traders above $100K monthly volume, where fees drop to 0.12% and 0.25%.
  • Users in Argentina, Brazil and Mexico who want local bank rails.

A weaker fit:

  • Small traders placing market orders. Binance charges 0.10% at entry level.
  • People who only use the simple buy button, at 1% plus a spread.
  • US users who want staking, which the official staking page marks as unavailable in the US.

Which countries can use Kraken, and what KYC does it require?

Kraken prohibits Russia and Belarus: it provides no services there and accepts no cash or crypto deposits. Argentina is supported through a registered local branch. Kazakhstan, Armenia and other CIS states are not mentioned on the restrictions page we checked. Every account needs a government ID and proof of address.

Russia and the CIS. Russia and Belarus are prohibited. For other CIS states the status is not confirmed, so check Kraken's legal disclosures page before you send funds.

Argentina and Latin America. Payward Trading Limited's Argentine branch is registered as a VASP with the CNV. Crypto custody and exchange are available, DeFi Earn is not. Brazil and Mexico have PIX and SPEI deposits on the fee page.

UK. Supported, but retail clients cannot trade derivatives.

The official KYC page does not use Starter, Intermediate or Pro labels. A standard verified individual gets cash limits under $100,000 a month and up to 16 API keys. A higher-limits level goes above $100,000 a month with up to 25 API keys. Businesses open a corporate account. Verification usually takes under 30 minutes, though manual review can take longer and new accounts may see delays.

A desk with a laptop showing a portfolio chart and a bank card
A desk with a laptop showing a portfolio chart and a bank card

How safe is Kraken, and can you check its reserves?

Kraken publishes proof of reserves. The latest snapshot, dated June 30, 2026, shows BTC reserves at 102.9% of client balances. Accounts get FIDO2 and passkey 2FA and a Global Settings Lock, and Kraken holds ISO/IEC 27001:2022 and SOC 2 Type 1. It uses cold storage but does not disclose what share of funds sits there.

The reserves check uses a Merkle tree method. It was done by an "independent external accountant" whose name is not given on the page.

AssetReserve ratio
BTC102.9%
ETH100.5%
SOL100.6%
XRP102.3%
ADA100.3%
USDC, USDT, USDGabove 105%

Kraken lists the limits itself: the method cannot prove exclusive control of keys, detect encumbrances or rule out borrowed funds. It is a useful signal, not a guarantee.

Before depositing, turn on a FIDO2 key or passkey for 2FA and the Global Settings Lock, a time-based lock on account settings. Give API keys only the permissions a tool needs.

How do you start on Kraken?

You create an account with an email and password, verify your identity with a government ID and proof of address, then fund the account by a method available in your region. Verification usually finishes in under 30 minutes. After that you can trade in the simple Kraken app or in Kraken Pro.

  1. Create an account at kraken.com with your email and a password.
  2. Submit a government ID and proof of address.
  3. Wait for verification, usually under 30 minutes.
  4. Deposit by a method for your region, such as ACH, SEPA or Faster Payments.
  5. Trade in Kraken for simple buys or in Kraken Pro for advanced orders.

If fees matter, use Kraken Pro with limit orders: the entry maker rate is half the taker rate, and both are below the 1% simple buy fee. Support channels are not verified from the official pages we checked, beyond the help center at support.kraken.com.

What are the risks of using Kraken?

The main risks are custody, regulation and past incidents. Funds on any exchange depend on the operator. Kraken settled with the SEC over staking in 2023, a broader SEC lawsuit followed, and a 2024 bug let a researcher withdraw about $3 million from Kraken's own treasuries. Kraken said no client funds were affected.

  • SEC staking settlement. On 2023-02-09 the SEC charged Payward Ventures and Payward Trading over an unregistered staking-as-a-service program. They paid $30 million in total, shut the US staking program and neither admitted nor denied the charges.
  • Broader SEC lawsuit. The SEC filed a separate lawsuit in November 2023. We did not verify its current status.
  • June 2024 bug. A flaw let a researcher inflate balances before deposits cleared, and about $3 million left Kraken treasuries. Kraken and the reporting firm CertiK disputed the return of the funds, as The Block reported.
  • Staking in the US. The staking page says it is unavailable in the US, while news reported a US relaunch in January 2025. We could not confirm it on an official page.
  • Regulatory status. UK FCA status is not confirmed from official pages.

How does Kraken compare with Binance, Bitstamp and Coinbase?

At the entry level Kraken is the most expensive of the four for takers: 0.80%, against 0.10% on Binance, 0.40% on Bitstamp and 0.60% on Coinbase Advanced Trade. Its strengths are free bank transfers in many currencies and published proof of reserves. Fees below come from each exchange's official pages.

ExchangeEntry makerEntry takerNote
Kraken0.40%0.80%17 tiers, down to 0.00% / 0.05%
Binance0.100%0.100%0.075% with BNB discount
Bitstamp0.30%0.40%Under $10K volume, from 2026-07-09
Coinbase Advanced Trade0.40%0.60%$0-10K tier, per help center

Coinbase's fee page returned an error when we checked, so its figures come from its official help center. For other exchanges, see our Bybit review, OKX review and Bitget review.

FAQ

What are Kraken's trading fees in 2026?

On Kraken Pro the entry tier is 0.40% maker and 0.80% taker, falling to 0.12% and 0.25% above $100K a month. The simple buy flow costs 1% plus a spread.

Can I use Kraken from Russia?

No. Kraken lists Russia and Belarus as prohibited and accepts no cash or crypto deposits from there.

Is Kraken available in Argentina?

Yes. Its Argentine branch is registered as a VASP with the CNV. Custody and exchange work, DeFi Earn does not, and ARS bank transfers are free from 10,000 ARS.

Does Kraken have proof of reserves?

Yes. The June 30, 2026 snapshot shows BTC at 102.9%. The accountant is not named, and the method cannot rule out borrowed funds.

How long does Kraken verification take?

Usually under 30 minutes. Manual review can take longer.

What does Kraken charge to withdraw BTC?

The fee is dynamic and the official page was unavailable on 2026-10-16. Third parties cite about 0.0002 BTC, which we could not confirm.

Is Kraken worth it in 2026?

For users in the EU, UK, US and Latin America who want a regulated exchange with free bank transfers and published reserves, Kraken is a reasonable choice if you trade on Kraken Pro with limit orders. For small market orders the 0.80% taker fee is high, and residents of Russia cannot use it.

If it fits, open an account on Kraken, verify, and test a small deposit and withdrawal before moving larger sums.