Polymarket review 2026: how it works, fees, who it fits
Polymarket is worth a look if you live in a country where it is allowed, already hold stablecoins, and want to trade on events from your own wallet. It does not fit residents of Russia, the US (who have a separate regulated app) or other restricted countries, and it is a poor choice for money you cannot afford to lose.
POOL BTC is an independent comparison site, not Polymarket and not a mining pool, and this is not investment advice. The figures come from Polymarket's documentation and help center, checked on 2026-10-04, plus named analysts and outlets where the official pages are silent.
What is Polymarket?
Polymarket is a prediction market: you buy shares that pay $1 if an event happens and $0 if it does not. Prices run from $0.00 to $1.00, so a share at 30 cents means the market puts the odds at roughly 30%. Trading settles on the Polygon blockchain in a stablecoin.
Between September 2 and October 1, 2026, sports made up 41.1% of volume, "other" 24.3%, crypto 17.1%, politics 5.7% and economics 3.8%, according to defirate.com. The polydata.pro index puts lifetime volume at about $33.5 billion, with $734.8 million traded in September 2026 by 216,846 active traders. The record month was June 2026, at $5.31 billion, around the World Cup.
Activity is concentrated. An August 2026 polyflux analysis found that the 3-6% of wallets making 1,000 or more trades a month account for 86-90% of fills, so a casual user usually trades against professionals.
How does Polymarket work?
You trade outcome shares in pUSD, Polymarket's own USD stablecoin, which the docs describe as an ERC-20 token backed 1:1 by USDC. Orders are matched off-chain in a central limit order book and settled on-chain on Polygon, where gas costs about $0.01. When the market resolves, each winning share redeems for $1.
The share mechanics come from the Gnosis Conditional Token Framework: one dollar mints one Yes and one No share. You can sell before resolution at whatever the order book offers.
New users can sign in with email through Privy, which creates a deposit smart wallet for them. Others connect MetaMask, Coinbase Wallet or Rabby. On selected crypto and finance markets, taker orders wait 250 milliseconds before they execute.
Resolution uses the UMA Optimistic Oracle. Someone proposes an answer and posts a bond, usually $750. Anyone can challenge it within two hours with a matching $750 bond. A first dispute opens a 24-48 hour debate. A second dispute goes to a vote of UMA token holders that takes about 48 hours, and the losing side forfeits half its bond. Two rarer outcomes exist: "Too Early", and a 50-50 split in which every share pays $0.50.
What fees and limits does Polymarket have?
Makers pay nothing on the global site. Takers pay a category rate between 0% and 7%, applied through the formula Rate x Price x (1 - Price). The fee is highest when a share costs 50 cents and much lower near 5 or 95 cents. Polymarket itself charges nothing for deposits or withdrawals.
This category structure has applied since March 2026, per Polymarket's fee documentation, last modified on July 10, 2026.
| Category | Taker rate | Maker rebate |
|---|---|---|
| Geopolitics, world events | 0% | No fees to rebate |
| Politics, finance, tech, mentions | 4% | 25% |
| Sports | 5% (3% promo on NFL and NCAAF through end of October 2026) | 15% |
| Economics, culture, weather, other | 5% | 25% |
| Crypto | 7% | 20% |
A worked example: on a crypto market at 50 cents, the formula gives 0.07 x 0.5 x 0.5, about 1.75 cents per share. At 5 cents it gives about 0.33 cents. Big takers get part of their fees back based on the previous month's volume: 10% for $250,000-$999,999, 25% for $1 million to $9.99 million, and 50% above $10 million.
Funding costs depend on the route. Card, Apple Pay and Google Pay purchases go through MoonPay and cost up to about 4.5%, with KYC at MoonPay and a minimum of about $30 according to a third-party guide. Bridging from Ethereum costs $1-5 in gas. Exchange transfers accept about 22 tokens, converted to USDC automatically, and Coinbase Connect is supported. There is no platform minimum deposit, though guides suggest $10-20 on Polygon. Some long-term markets also pay Holding Rewards of about 3.25% APY.
Who is Polymarket for, and who should avoid it?
It suits people in permitted countries who already use a crypto wallet and want to trade event outcomes with small, defined stakes. Limit-order users benefit most, because makers pay 0% and earn rebates. It does not suit anyone in a restricted country, anyone planning to use a VPN, or anyone counting on it as income.
Resolution depends on the exact wording of each market's rules, and some disputes have gone against what many traders expected. Casual takers on 50-cent crypto markets pay the highest fees and mostly face professional counterparties.
If you mine bitcoin and wonder whether event trading beats a steady payout, compare the numbers first. Our mining calculator shows expected mining income, while a prediction market position can go to zero.
Which countries can use Polymarket?
Most of the world can, with exceptions. Seven areas are fully blocked, more than 30 countries are close-only, and the list changes. Russia is close-only, so Russian residents cannot open new positions. Argentina and most of Latin America are not on the restricted list. Check the official geoblock page before you deposit.
Fully blocked, with no orders and no closing: Cuba, Iran, North Korea, Syria, Crimea, Donetsk and Luhansk.
Close-only, where you can close existing positions but not open new ones: Australia, Belarus, Belgium, Brazil, Burundi, parts of Canada, Central African Republic, DR Congo, Ethiopia, France, Germany, Iraq, Italy, Lebanon, Libya, Myanmar, Nicaragua, Poland, Russia, Singapore, Slovakia, Somalia, South Sudan, Sudan, Taiwan, Thailand, the United Kingdom, the United States, Venezuela, Yemen and Zimbabwe. Third-party sources add Ireland, Japan and the Netherlands as close-only on the website only.
In the CIS, Kazakhstan, Ukraine, Georgia and Armenia are not listed as restricted on the official pages. In Latin America, only Brazil, Nicaragua and Venezuela appear on the list.
US residents have a separate route. Polymarket US runs at polymarket.us under QCX LLC, a CFTC-regulated exchange: Polymarket announced the $112 million acquisition of QCEX on July 21, 2025 and received a CFTC no-action letter on September 3, 2025. It requires full KYC with ID, SSN and a selfie, uses a different fee formula (at most about $1.50 per 100 contracts at 50 cents, with a maker rebate), and launched a US app around May 2026. Its fees do not compare with the global table above.
On January 3, 2022 the CFTC fined Blockratize, the company behind Polymarket, $1.4 million and ordered it to block US users. In July 2025 the DOJ and CFTC dropped their probes without charges, as CNBC and Bloomberg Law reported on July 15, 2025. Belgium's Gaming Commission has blacklisted the site, and regulators in France, Singapore and the UK restrict it.
Does Polymarket require KYC, and who holds the funds?
On the global site, users in non-restricted countries do not upload ID. Polymarket screens wallet addresses against OFAC sanctions lists. High-volume accounts have been asked to verify, but the thresholds are not published. Funds sit in your own wallet or a smart wallet you control, not in an exchange account.
Using a VPN to get around a geoblock breaks the terms of service and can lead to frozen funds. Skipping the ID upload does not make you anonymous either: MoonPay card purchases need KYC, and any exchange you fund from keeps records. Our analysis of "no-KYC" crypto cards explains why verification usually happens somewhere along the chain.
We could not find a smart contract audit report or a bug bounty program on the official pages we checked. Support works through chat on the site, support@polymarket.com, and the #open-a-ticket channel on Discord. Staff never message you first and never ask for keys, so treat any such DM as a scam.
How do you start on Polymarket?
These steps use only options described in Polymarket's docs and help center, and assume your country is not restricted.
- Open Polymarket and check the geoblock list for your country first.
- Sign up with email, which creates a smart wallet, or connect MetaMask, Coinbase Wallet or Rabby.
- Fund the account: send USDC on Polygon, transfer a supported token from an exchange, use Coinbase Connect, or buy with a card through MoonPay at up to about 4.5%.
- Pick a market and read its resolution rules and named source before you trade.
- Use limit orders where you can. As a maker you pay 0% and may earn a rebate.
- Withdraw to your own wallet. Polymarket charges no withdrawal fee, but gas and exchange fees still apply.
What are the risks of Polymarket?
You can lose the whole stake, and a market can resolve differently from how the event looked. Disputes are documented: a $7 million Ukraine market resolved Yes without a deal, a Venezuela market went against its own named source, and once Polymarket overruled the oracle. Prediction markets are also illegal or restricted in many countries.
In March 2025 a $7 million market on a Ukraine minerals deal resolved Yes although no deal existed. Decrypt and CryptoSlate reported on March 26, 2025 that one whale with about 5 million UMA tokens cast about 25% of the votes. Polymarket called it an unprecedented situation and issued no refunds. Analysts have also claimed that two wallets held more than 50% of UMA voting power.
The Venezuela election market of July-August 2024 resolved against the official Venezuelan result, the primary source named in its rules, with no refunds, according to an August 8, 2024 Substack analysis. The opposite happened in June 2024: Polymarket overruled its oracle on a DJT and Barron Trump market and refunded Yes holders, CoinDesk reported on June 28, 2024.
Volume figures can mislead too. In October 2024, Chaos Labs and Inca Digital published findings of wash trading on the platform. With that, the regulatory risk and no public audit, small stakes are the sensible default.
How does Polymarket compare with Kalshi and Predict.fun?
Kalshi is the regulated US option, with dollars, full KYC and a $2 withdrawal fee. Predict.fun runs on BNB Chain with taker fees of 0-2% and a gasless wallet, per its docs. Polymarket charges makers 0% and asks for no ID upload outside restricted countries. Kalshi figures below come from its fee schedule.
| Polymarket (global) | Kalshi | Predict.fun | |
|---|---|---|---|
| Regulation | Global site closed to US users, who use Polymarket US | CFTC-regulated | Not stated in docs reviewed |
| Network and currency | Polygon, pUSD backed by USDC | USD | BNB Chain, USDT and USDC |
| Taker fee | 0-7% rate x p x (1 - p) | 0.07 x contracts x p x (1 - p), 3.5% rate on S&P and Nasdaq | 0-2% rate, same formula |
| Maker fee | 0% plus rebates | Not checked | Not checked |
| KYC | No ID upload outside restricted countries | Full KYC | Not stated in docs reviewed |
| Withdrawal | No platform fee | $2 flat | Not checked |
| Oracle | UMA | Not checked | UMA |
| Extras | Holding Rewards about 3.25% APY | US access | Yield through Venus Protocol, gasless smart wallet |
Our prediction markets comparison puts Polymarket, Predict.fun and Jupiter side by side. If you need a card to spend stablecoins in your region, see our crypto cards by region guide.
FAQ
Can I use Polymarket from Russia?
You cannot open new positions. Russia is on the close-only list, which only allows closing existing ones. Using a VPN to get around this breaks the terms and can lead to frozen funds.
Is Polymarket available in Argentina, Kazakhstan or Ukraine?
None of the three is on the restricted list, and neither are Georgia or Armenia. Brazil, Nicaragua, Venezuela and Belarus are restricted. The list changes, so check it on the day you sign up.
How much does Polymarket charge?
Makers pay 0%. Takers pay a category rate from 0% for geopolitics to 7% for crypto, scaled by Price x (1 - Price), so fees peak at 50 cents. Deposits and withdrawals are free on the platform side.
Do I need KYC on Polymarket?
Not on the global site outside restricted countries. Wallets are screened against OFAC lists, and high-volume accounts have been asked to verify, though the thresholds are not published. Polymarket US, the CFTC-regulated version for US residents, needs full KYC.
Is my money safe on Polymarket?
Funds stay in a wallet you control. The bigger risks are how markets resolve and how regulators treat the platform, and we found no published audit or bug bounty. If you try it, start with an amount you can lose, through Polymarket.
This article contains a referral link: we may receive a reward if you register through it. It does not change the figures or conclusions.



