Gate.io review 2026: fees, KYC, countries, Proof of Reserves, risks, who it fits
Gate suits traders who want a wide choice of altcoins and futures and who live in a country where it is allowed. The base spot fee is 0.1% to 0.2%, and published reserves were 127% in August 2026. It fits poorly in Argentina, the US, the UK and Germany, where it is restricted, and for anyone who wants a clear answer on Russia.
POOL BTC is an independent comparison site. We are not Gate, we do not run an exchange, and nothing here is investment advice. Facts come from the official Gate help center, fee and announcement pages checked on 2026-10-12, plus the third-party sources named in the text. Where an official page was silent or contradicted another source, we say so.
What is Gate.io?
Gate is a crypto exchange founded in 2013 as Bter.com and renamed Gate.io in 2017. In May 2025 it moved to the gate.com domain and now uses the single name Gate. The company is registered in the Cayman Islands, and its group has separate entities in Malta, Dubai, Japan and Australia.
The product list is broad: spot, margin, perpetual and delivery futures, a launchpool for new tokens, a zero-fee Convert tool, Gate Pay, earn products, a Visa crypto card and tokenized US stocks. The exchange also has its own token, GT, which gives fee discounts.
Size claims are inconsistent. Third-party pages give anywhere from 16 million to 53 million users and from about 1,700 to more than 4,600 listed coins. The official site does not state either number, so treat them as rough.
Licensing is entity-specific. Gate Technology Ltd in Malta announced a MiCA licence from the Malta Financial Services Authority in October 2025, and Gate Technology FZE in Dubai holds a VARA licence. These cover the local entities, not the global platform you may sign up to from another country.
How much does Gate.io cost?
Gate charges a base spot fee of 0.1% for makers and takers according to the body of its official fee guide, while the intro and conclusion of the same guide say 0.2%. Perpetual futures start at 0.02% maker and 0.05% taker. The fee schedule was updated on 2026-04-09, and full rates are shown only after login.
| Item | Base level (VIP 0) | Top level | Note |
|---|---|---|---|
| Spot maker and taker | 0.1% (guide body) or 0.2% (guide intro) | Close to 0% at VIP 16 | Official guide contradicts itself |
| Perpetual futures maker | 0.020% | About 0.00% | Official guide |
| Perpetual futures taker | 0.050% | About 0.016% | Official guide |
| GT token discount | Roughly 1% to 28% off, by tier | n/a | Third-party estimate, Sep 2026 |
| Convert and Auto-Invest | 0 fee | n/a | Stated on the fee page |
| Withdrawals (BTC, USDT) | Network fee, updated about hourly | n/a | Shown at withdrawal |
| P2P and fiat on-ramp | Not stated on the official site (checked 2026-10-12) | n/a | Check in your account |
According to a September 2026 third-party guide, VIP 1 needs 100 GT or 60,000 USDT of 30-day volume, and the top band needs 50,000 GT or 10 million USD. We could not confirm those thresholds on an official page.
Because of the 0.1% versus 0.2% conflict, check the fee page while logged in before you size a strategy around the base rate. If you only convert pool payouts once a month, withdrawal fees and the spread matter more than the maker rate.
Is Gate.io available in your country?
It depends on the country, and the official list is old. Gate's restricted-locations page, last edited 2024-11-22, names the US, mainland China, Canada, the UK, Germany, France, Argentina, Japan, South Korea, Singapore, the UAE and others, and says the list is not exhaustive. Russia does not appear on that page.
A third-party tracker updated 2026-09-30 does list Russia among 56 restricted countries. Russian-language guides from 2026 describe registration with KYC and RUB P2P deals as working. These claims conflict, and the official page is almost two years old, so we cannot tell you whether a Russian resident can open an account today. Check the terms inside the registration flow before you deposit anything.
Latin America is clearer for one country. Argentina is on the official restricted list, so Argentine residents should not register. The same page also names Malta, France, Germany and Spain even though the group holds a MiCA licence through Malta, which shows how local entities and the global site follow different rules.
Verification is required for deposits and withdrawals. Third-party guides describe a basic level with a daily withdrawal limit of about 100,000 USDT and a higher level with proof of address and about 2 million USDT. These limits are not confirmed on official pages, so look them up under your account security settings.
How safe is Gate.io?
The strongest public signal is Proof of Reserves. Gate's announcement dated 2026-08-24 reports total reserves of about 8.2 billion USD and an overall ratio of 127% as of 2026-08-19. A January 2026 report gave 125%. The announcement does not name the auditor. Earlier attestations came from Armanino, and Hacken reviewed the proof-of-reserves code.
The incident record is mixed:
- November 2018: a supply-chain attack through the Statcounter analytics script redirected some BTC withdrawals, according to HelpNetSecurity and The Hacker News.
- January 2019: about 40,000 ETC, roughly 220,000 USD, were stolen after a 51% attack on the Ethereum Classic network.
- 2023: Gate denied rumours of a breach, and The Block reported that its security team saw no abnormalities.
- July 2026: an aggregator that republished a Gate update dated 2026-07-11 says the company acknowledged a customer fund loss on 2026-07-08, formed a task force and is working with police. We did not find the original notice on gate.com, and the outcome is unresolved as of today.
Two-factor options and any insurance fund are not stated on the pages we could open without logging in (checked 2026-10-12). Use an authenticator app, keep a withdrawal address whitelist, and do not leave funds you do not trade on the exchange.
What is the Gate Card?
The Gate Card is a Visa crypto card that spends from your Gate balance. A 2026 third-party review reports 1% cashback at the lowest VIP levels, rising to 5% at the top, a 0.9% crypto conversion fee and a 0.4% foreign exchange fee. Another source claims up to 8%, and regional coverage is quoted as both 100 and 200 countries.
We could not read the official card terms without an account, so we cannot confirm any of these numbers. The EEA has a separate card in euros. If a card is your main reason to join, compare it with the Bybit Card and the OKX Card, where we verified the fee tables.
Who is Gate.io for, and who should skip it?
Gate fits you if you:
- trade a lot of small-cap altcoins that larger exchanges do not list;
- use futures and want low maker fees at higher volume;
- live in a country that is not on the restricted list and have confirmed that in the sign-up flow;
- are comfortable with a custodial account and a long record that includes two older incidents.
Look elsewhere if you:
- live in Argentina, the US, the UK, Germany or France, where Gate is restricted;
- need a firm answer on Russia before you transfer money;
- want self-custody, because Gate holds your keys;
- need a simple, flat base fee that you can verify without logging in.
Miners usually need an exchange only to sell payouts. Run your numbers in the mining calculator, then compare conversion costs. A mismatch of 0.1% on a monthly BTC sale is small next to a pool fee of 1% to 4%.
How do you start on Gate?
The steps follow the official help center.
- Check that your country is allowed, using the restricted-locations page and the terms in the sign-up flow.
- Register with an email address or a phone number and set up two-factor authentication.
- Complete identity verification. A higher level asks for proof of address.
- Choose a coin and a network on the deposit page, copy the address and send a small test amount first.
- Trade on the spot order book, or use Convert for a swap without trading fees.
- Withdraw to your own wallet and compare the network fee shown at checkout.
Support is available by live chat on the site and by email at support@gate.com.
What are the risks of using Gate.io?
- Country rules. The official restricted list is old and the Russian position is contradicted between sources. A closed account can freeze your access.
- Custody. Funds sit with the exchange. Reserves of 127% are reassuring, but the auditor is not named in the latest announcement.
- Security history. Two older incidents and a reported July 2026 fund loss that is not yet explained.
- Unclear fees. The official guide gives two spot rates.
- Altcoin risk. A very long coin list includes illiquid tokens that can drop sharply or be delisted.
- Entity mismatch. A MiCA or VARA licence covers a local entity, not every user of gate.com.
How does Gate compare with Bybit, OKX and MEXC?
On third-party counts Gate lists the most coins, but it is the only one of the four that names Argentina as restricted. The comparison below uses third-party guides for fees because the exchanges show full schedules only after login, so check each fee page yourself.
| Feature | Gate | Bybit | OKX | MEXC |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Base spot fee (maker/taker) | 0.1% or 0.2% | About 0.1% | 0.08% / 0.10% | 0% / 0.05% |
| Listed coins | About 1,700 to 4,600 | Over 2,800 | Over 300 | Over 3,000 |
| Proof of Reserves | 127%, Aug 2026 | Published | Monthly updates | Conflicting reports |
| Russia, RUB P2P | Conflicting | Reported active | Removed in Aug 2023 | Reported active |
| Argentina | Restricted by Gate | Not confirmed restricted | Not confirmed restricted | Not confirmed restricted |
Read our reviews of Bybit, OKX, MEXC and KuCoin before you pick. If country coverage is your main filter, Bybit and MEXC look broader than Gate on the evidence we have, but that evidence is thinner for them than for Gate's own list.
FAQ
Is Gate.io safe?
Gate publishes Proof of Reserves with a ratio of 127% as of 2026-08-19, but it has had a 2018 withdrawal-redirect attack, a 2019 Ethereum Classic theft and a reported unresolved fund loss in July 2026. It is custodial, so keep only what you trade there.
What are Gate.io trading fees?
The official guide gives 0.1% for spot makers and takers in its body and 0.2% in its intro, and 0.02% and 0.05% for perpetual futures. Convert has no fee. Check the live schedule after login.
Can Russians use Gate?
We cannot confirm it. The official restricted list from 2024 does not include Russia, but a September 2026 tracker does. Read the terms in the sign-up flow before depositing.
Is Gate.io available in Argentina?
No. Argentina is on the official restricted-locations page, so Argentine residents should not open an account.
Does Gate.io have a crypto card?
Yes, a Visa card called Gate Card. Cashback and fees quoted in third-party reviews range from 1% to 8%, and we could not confirm them from official terms.
Is Gate.io worth it in 2026?
For an experienced trader in a permitted country who wants futures and rare altcoins, Gate is a workable choice with published reserves above 100%. If you live in Argentina or another restricted country, or you cannot confirm Russian access, choose another exchange.
If Gate is allowed where you live, open an account through Gate, confirm the terms in the sign-up flow and test a small deposit before moving larger amounts.
This article contains a referral link: we may receive a reward if you register through it. It does not change the figures or conclusions.



